Avalanche Chevy's first real SUT, combining the interior room of an SUV and the cargo ability of a pickup truck.

Chevrolet Avalanche
Platform: GMT 805 & 900

2003 Z71 P1516 Fault: Has History

Old December 23rd, 2014, 3:17 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Z71 P1516 Fault: Has History

Hello everyone. I have a 2003 Avalanche 1500 Z71 5.3 and I was wondering if anyone here had the same problem I am having. I had this problem back in July 2014 and after some parts changed it is back again 5 months later. I’m sorry if this topic has been covered before I really did search for an answer but I couldn’t find anything specific for my year/model/engine type. I know it’s a long read but I like to be really detailed and appreciate you taking the time to read through it. I am a Mechanic (jet-engine) so don’t be afraid to get too technical with your responses lol. I’ve had the truck for 5 years now so this is my first major issue at 150,000 miles.

Fault: Engine Reduced Power w/ P1516 Code (has history see below)
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
<!--[endif]-->

Current Symptoms:
Engine loses all acceleration, unable to increase in speed and no pedal movement recognized by tachometer. When engine is idling at 0mph, rough and shaky idle occurs until engine shutdown and restart. Check Engine Light (CEL) is present at restart. Engine idles normally after restart with CEL on. No reduced engine power message is shown after restart, CEL is still present and truck will accelerate normally up to 30mph, after 30mph reduced engine power message appears and acceleration loss / hesitating idle return. CEL can be cleared w/ ODB2 scan tool, once clear truck will operate normally from 0-70 mph. So far,the fault has only happened at a continuous speed.

Parameters that caused fault:

-Incident 1: Driving at a steady speed of 55 mph for approximately 15 minutes.
-Incident 2: Driving at a steady speed (with cruise control on) at 70mph for 30 minutes.