Captiva The Captiva has been sold worldwide since 2006 and now comes to the US to replace the Saturn Vue
Chevy Captiva
Platform: Theta

2012 Captive Key stuck in ingition and will not come out

Search this Thread

Old May 22nd, 2016, 10:04 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Captive Key stuck in ingition and will not come out

I have a 2012 Captiva and my key has been stuck in the car for over a week cause I can't afford to have it fixed at the cost of $600. This is not any fault of mine that the car will not release the key. I noticed a recall on 1990 chevy, but why would it take a company so long to report a recall on a issue like this. I can't even drive the car to school or to work, because I can't retrieve the key. I am a full time student who now has to miss days towards the end of my semester to work more hours at work to try and fix this car. Can anyone recommend a mechanic that can do it for less then the dealership. All this new electrical things suppose to make the cars, better just seems to make more problems. Just give me a old fashion car leave the electric and wifi and etc out of it.
Old May 22nd, 2016, 12:18 PM
CF Veteran

Received 203 Likes on 177 Posts

Maybe you can use this source to encourage Chevy to make it right.
GM Offering To Fix Cars With Stuck Key Problem | GM Authority
Can you move your key through all positions?
This may help you as well.

Last edited by Rednucleus; May 22nd, 2016 at 12:27 PM.
Old May 22nd, 2016, 7:10 PM
CF Beginner

Thanks For your help!! I will give them a call tomorrow!!... The video is great! But my steering while and windshield wiper is made different. I can't pop the top like that in the video.

QUOTE=Rednucleus;322104]Maybe you can use this source to encourage Chevy to make it right.
[/QUOTE]
Old May 22nd, 2016, 7:11 PM
CF Beginner

QUOTE=Rednucleus;322104]Maybe you can use this source to encourage Chevy to make it right.
[/QUOTE]
Old May 22nd, 2016, 7:12 PM
CF Beginner