Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

1996 Cavalier Z24 Sputters/Rough

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2011, 6:21 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 1996 Cavalier Z24 Sputters/Rough

So I own a 1996 Chevy Cavalier Z24, here's the problem it seems to idle low and when I give it gas it sputters and hesitates. The guy I bought it from said he put a cool air intake from a Honda on it. There is a vacuum line towards the front of the engine that isn't connected to anything. I'm a rookie when it comes to vehicles, but have some knowledge. I have read a few forums and they talk about the Idle Air Control (IAC) valve or a possible vacuum leak/bad hose. So I need to know where to begin, what to check, and any tips that would help resolve this problem. I still need to get to work and back. I also have a Haynes manual I've been flipping through. I have not yet checked the spark plugs yet. Any help or pics are greatly appreciated. I can send pics if that helps. thanks.
Old October 8th, 2011, 10:31 PM
CF Beginner

A bad sparkplug would maybe cause the hesitation. Also so could a clogged Fuel injector. Your IAC will smooth out your idle if cleaned. If you can't find it, it'll be near your throttle body and air intake, somewhere in between. Has a Electrical connector in it. Should come off with 2 screws. Clean it with carb cleaner. Clean your MAF sensor (in your intake hose or near end of it.) Find out where that hose goes and clamp it into place, that will always cause i rough idle. Post pics up in your garage.
Old October 8th, 2011, 11:23 PM
CF Beginner

I will give this a try in the morning. I also recorded a video I'm going to try n post up on YouTube or something with pics. Any idea if that vacuum line from the air intake that isn't connect could cause that? Thanks much n will get the pics ASAP.
Old October 9th, 2011, 7:33 PM
CF Beginner