Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

2004 Cavalier Ecotec 2.2 Pulling head

Search this Thread

Old April 19th, 2014, 8:36 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Cavalier Ecotec 2.2 Pulling head

I am looking for info on pulling the head on this Ecotec 2.2.

I am a DIY mechanic, part time, helping family, and close friends with car, truck, motorcycle, Atv, gokart, scooter and anything in between lol ...this is one that I am currently starting work on today.

I can't find many threads about this process with included pics, maybe I'm not putting in the correct "Key Words" . I don't have a OTC manual for this engine, but have a good basic idea on how this thing comes apart from searching the internet for hours upon hours.

I prefer to hear from real folks that have performed this task successfully

I would appreciate it!
Old April 19th, 2014, 10:00 PM
CF Active Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm a DIY mechanic myself ... although I have done it for living in past. If you have some experience all you need is tightening pattern and torque. Should not be hard to find in Google. But then again, spending a few bucks on Haynes (yea I know) will pay back.
Old April 19th, 2014, 11:12 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

you can get a cheap short term subscription to Mitchell on demand or all data. identifix is a good site also.
Old April 20th, 2014, 8:06 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by Segfault
I'm a DIY mechanic myself ... although I have done it for living in past. If you have some experience all you need is tightening pattern and torque. Should not be hard to find in Google. But then again, spending a few bucks on Haynes (yea I know) will pay back.
thanks for the input, and good to know there are other DIY mechanics out there that have done this for a living.