Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

Cavalier Misfiring Need help

Search this Thread

Old October 1st, 2016, 12:29 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cavalier Misfiring Need help

Hey everyone. I really need help with my daughters Cavalier. It is misfiring and I'm running out of ideas.
First I wanna introduce myself a bit. I'm 41 and original from Germany, living since 8 years in Canada. I'm an Industrial Electrician and worked for the GM sister Opel in a Motor Production Plant. Worked there with my father who's an Industrial Mechanic and a Car Mechanic. I'm not saying, I'm Mr Know-it-all, but I grew up with cars and work on them for 25 years, but this Cavalier got me to the point where I just pull up my shoulders. No idea what's wrong.
I need your help.

It's a 2002 Cavalier 2.2l OHV with AC

My daughter came home with check engine light on and it wouldn't rev past 4000rpm. Hooked up OBD Reader and it showed P0300 Misfiring.
Then I checked connections of all sensor for moisture and corrosion. All Ok.
Then I was gonna check the spark plugs. First one came loose half way and then it got stuck. Went back in and out and in (just like tapping a thread). It came out, but thread was damaged. 2nd one broke off as well as 3rd one. Left the 4th one in. I thought F.........................k.

Took then the head off, drilled the plugs out, tapped bigger holes, put inserts in, secured them with high strength/high temp Locktite. New Headgasket, new plugs, new ignition cables. Found out, why they broke off. Chevy dealer sold me last year the wrong plugs. They were half inch too long. The plug thread was actually sticking into the cylinder and got seized up. There was just a hair room between the plug and the piston.
While I had the head sitting on the work bench, I put on every valve seat gasoline and let it sit for a while to see if valves are leaking. All Ok.