Cobalt This sporty compact was faced with the difficult job of replacing the popular Cavalier, but whether the base model, or the supercharged SS is chosen, is has made for a great replacement.
Platform: Delta
Also Check out CobaltSS.net

2006 Cobalt LS Steering Issue?

Search this Thread

Old March 5th, 2017, 3:49 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 Cobalt LS Steering Issue?

Hello all,
Just to be clear, this is my first time using this forum and I didn't see a rules post, so I hope I'm doing this right.

I have a 2006 Cobalt LS with the 2.2L Ecotech in it and it's the version without ABS.

Basically, a driver was on the center line and I realized they weren't going to move over so I moved over at the last second. This means that I gave the steering wheel a hardy pull to the right. Now, to get the car to go straight, I need to put the steering wheel a little bit to the right. Putting the steering wheel to straight results in the car slightly turning left. It's like the whole steering wheel has moved right a little bit...

I'm so confused. Is this something I need to be worried about or should I just ignore it?

Thanks in advance to all that answer.

-Darren
Old March 5th, 2017, 4:46 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Steering is probably out of alignment;
i would get it checked, because if you let the steering pull, it can wreck your tires.
You could have loosened a control arm, bushing, ball joint might be broken...
Did you brake any?
Bad brakes can cause a car to pull to one side too.
I would get it checked. You don't want to be driving with any damaged/loose parts, & things might get worse & cause an accident.
Old March 5th, 2017, 5:16 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by Gravydog316
Steering is probably out of alignment;
i would get it checked, because if you let the steering pull, it can wreck your tires.
You could have loosened a control arm, bushing, ball joint might be broken...
Did you brake any?