Go Back   Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums > Past Chevrolet Cars > Cobalt
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Cobalt This sporty compact was faced with the difficult job of replacing the popular Cavalier, but whether the base model, or the supercharged SS is chosen, is has made for a great replacement.
Platform: Delta
Also Check out CobaltSS.net

Welcome to Chevrolet forum!
Welcome to Chevrolet forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Chevrolet forum today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:23 PM
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,571
Default RE: Cruise Control

Just tell them to use their tech2, build the car, select Vehicle Control Systems, then navigate to Computer/Integrating Systems, once in the Computer/Integrating Systems menu select Module Replacement/Setup and follow the instructions on the scan tool.

It will ask a bunch of questions regarding the options on the car, one of them will be about the cruise control, just say yes it does have this option.


Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
__________________

If you have a question, ask it in the forums. I will no longer be answering questions sent to my email.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2008, 01:28 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Cruise Control

One of the dearlerships told me there was also a "calibration code" that needed to be entered also? Do you know if that is true and if so where and how I could get the code?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-14-2008, 08:55 PM
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,571
Default RE: Cruise Control

there is no code......
__________________

If you have a question, ask it in the forums. I will no longer be answering questions sent to my email.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-17-2008, 07:35 PM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default RE: Cruise Control

Cruise can be added just needs to be turned on in the bcm. With the tech 2. I have done alot of these upgrades 99% have been aftermarket upgrades. which are cheaper that buying a new steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Cruise Control

I just had it done and it does work. The tech that actually completed it only took about 20 minutes start to finish. Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-11-2008, 10:13 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default RE: Cruise Control

Hello

I have an '08 Cobalt, 5 speed, no cruise. I've considered installing a Rosta aftermarket cruise, but was curious about installing the OEM cruise buttons and found this discussion. I understand that your found a whole steering wheel from an SS on ebay, with the buttons, wiring and probabaly everything except the air bag? But, based on your experience, what's really needed to instal OEM cruise.

I suspect that what isneeded if I can't find a deal on ebay is:

1. OEM cruise buttons andnew plastic cover

2. New wiring harness within the steering wheel assembly?

What do you think? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-25-2008, 01:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default RE: Cruise Control

I just purchased a 2008 Colbalt LS manual transmission. It does not have cruise and i was concidering purchasing a different steering wheel with the cruise buttons on it, to have them changed out. From what I read here this can be done however the car I read about was an automoatic. I just want to know if somebody can let me know if there is anything different I need to do other than the brake and clutch wires. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:11 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Cruise Control

From what I understand now GM will no longer support any dealer added cruise control options. I actually work at a dealership and have been talking with my service department about the way I installed mine and how to do it on other applications. Just when I has trying to have them install it on one of my customers cars the dealership received the e-mail bulletin about no longer supporting that. I don't know if there is a way around that or not. Otherwise all the other components are usually there like the brake switch and the sensor letting the computer know that it is in neutral. You should just need to install the steering wheel with the switches and program the computer to recognize it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-29-2010, 11:22 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default cobalt cruise control

I work for a chevy dealer and just bought an 09 cobalt. All you have to do to get FACTORY cruise control is order a steering wheel with the switches. I ordered the leather wheel with cruise and radio controls Part number is 25826816 and dealer cost is 155.54 and list is 272.88. All the wires connect just like the old one does and then you'll need to get a tech II scan tool or have the dealer program it. The instructions are simple and I'll post the link to the directions here

http://www.thecruisecontrolstore.com/cobaltprogram.pdf

Boom youre done. After installing the new wheel, my radio volume buttons worked, the bluetooth button works as a mute button (bluetooth wont work unless equipped with onstar) and I was also given new options in the driver info display which are instant mpg and average speed.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:25 AM
DTO DTO is offline
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Cobalt cruise control

I want to add OEM cruise to my 2009 Cobalt. I see from other questions about it that everyone get a new stering wheel with the switches...any reason you cant just get the switches and install them on the existing wheel??? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 10:25 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2007, 2011, bcm, chev, chevy, cobalt, components, control, cruise, forum, oem, procedure, program, radio, redundant


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup