Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

2003 Express 1500 Running Too Hot at Highway Speeds

Old December 14th, 2015, 5:42 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Express 1500 Running Too Hot at Highway Speeds

Hi all. I have an '03 chevy express 1500. The issue I've been dealing with for a while now is that it drives to hot at highway speeds. It's not uncommon for the needle to be at the 3/4 mark. It never overheats, but I've been driving these vans for 20 years and have never had one where the gauge goes past half way when operating properly. I just had work done at the dealer and they flushed the cooling system for me. They say that radiator is good and that the system is keeping adequate pressure. A while back I also had the thermostat and water pump replaced (the water pump happened because of damage to a bolt getting the old t-stat off). Not at all sure what the issue could be (fan clutch mabye??). Any advice y'all have would be greatly appreciated. I want to take it in to the dealer again but would like to have an idea of what might be happening just in case there's something else I could attempt before another wallet busting dealer trip.
Old December 14th, 2015, 10:19 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Running hot while cruising at 2300 rpm with 100 km wind blowing through the rad is almost impossible unless something is really wrong mechanically. I am betting on an electrical fault. Bad coolant sensor, or other issue.
Old December 15th, 2015, 8:10 AM
CF Junior Member

Originally Posted by canucklehead
Running hot while cruising at 2300 rpm with 100 km wind blowing through the rad is almost impossible unless something is really wrong mechanically. I am betting on an electrical fault. Bad coolant sensor, or other issue.