Go Back   Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums > Current Chevy Trucks, SUV's, Crossovers & Vans > Express & G-Series Vans
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageUsed CarsVendors TSB & Recalls
Search
Welcome to Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-15-2011, 12:59 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default 3500 Express 70 MPH Limiter

Hello Forum Gurus

I recently purchased a used 2010 Express van from a company that went out of buisness, when I test drove the van it rode like a dream so I purchased it for the price it was a steal. The dream became a nightmare when I got on the highway and tried to get passed 70 MPH it would bog down I began digging through the internet and found that Chevy provides a 70 MPH limiter (ELEC SPD GOV(9B9)) I cant have this on this truck.

My question is there any way to eliminate or even tweek this module to get a little more top end out of this vehicle. Any true suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I have spent hours searching the web along with forums to see if anyone has asked this and came up with nothing so I decided to post a thread.

In advanced thank you very much for any and all help!!!
Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:16 PM
kevinkpk's Avatar
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,651
not anymore Kevin Koloff
Default

Theres got to be a fuse for it, but it might not run at all without the fuse in for it as a saftey feature. Only reason I can think of for it is just for delivery speeding liabilities for a company.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:43 PM
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,757
Default

the top speed is governed by the programming in the ecm. It will need to be reprogrammed. don't know if the dealer can/will program that out...a tuner/programmer (edge) may be the way to go...remember to put the factory programming back in when you return to the dealer for warranty work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:56 PM
RacerX's Avatar
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York City USA
Posts: 1,053
Default

look where the OBD2 interface is. See if there is a control harness connected to it. Or if there are TWO of them.

I work with a company that puts these limiters in their Ford E Series Superduty trucks. It limits the speed to 55mph max. If you disconnect this device from the OBD2 connector then the speed limiter is ineffective. You may have the same thing. If not then a trip to the dealer to reprogram the top speed in your PCM is needed.
__________________
"

"My 98 Oldsmobile is so Super Sperrrrrrrrm! Suckers to the side I know you hate...my 98!! You gonna get yours! Get with it, the ultimate homeboy car."

Public Enemy "You Gonna Get Yours"
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:56 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2011, 3500, 70, auto, chevy, connector, disconnect, express, limited, limiter, mph, obdii, questions, speed, truck, van


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup