3500 Express 70 MPH Limiter - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

3500 Express 70 MPH Limiter


  Reply  
jjhz83's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1

August 15th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #1  
3500 Express 70 MPH Limiter

Hello Forum Gurus

I recently purchased a used 2010 Express van from a company that went out of buisness, when I test drove the van it rode like a dream so I purchased it for the price it was a steal. The dream became a nightmare when I got on the highway and tried to get passed 70 MPH it would bog down I began digging through the internet and found that Chevy provides a 70 MPH limiter (ELEC SPD GOV(9B9)) I cant have this on this truck.

My question is there any way to eliminate or even tweek this module to get a little more top end out of this vehicle. Any true suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I have spent hours searching the web along with forums to see if anyone has asked this and came up with nothing so I decided to post a thread.

In advanced thank you very much for any and all help!!!

 
kevinkpk's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,764

August 15th, 2011, 2:16 PM   #2  
Theres got to be a fuse for it, but it might not run at all without the fuse in for it as a saftey feature. Only reason I can think of for it is just for delivery speeding liabilities for a company.

 
tech2's Avatar
CF Monarch

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,153

August 15th, 2011, 5:43 PM   #3  
the top speed is governed by the programming in the ecm. It will need to be reprogrammed. don't know if the dealer can/will program that out...a tuner/programmer (edge) may be the way to go...remember to put the factory programming back in when you return to the dealer for warranty work.

 
RacerX's Avatar
CF Veteran

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,053
New York City USA

August 15th, 2011, 9:56 PM   #4  
look where the OBD2 interface is. See if there is a control harness connected to it. Or if there are TWO of them.

I work with a company that puts these limiters in their Ford E Series Superduty trucks. It limits the speed to 55mph max. If you disconnect this device from the OBD2 connector then the speed limiter is ineffective. You may have the same thing. If not then a trip to the dealer to reprogram the top speed in your PCM is needed.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics