Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

considering a chevy van

Search this Thread

Old July 8th, 2014, 4:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default considering a chevy van

Hi,

I am looking into buying a van from the late80s/early90s era most likely. my purpose is to haul art and equipment to art festivals that often take me several hundred miles from home. It would need to be reliable, and be a high-top and possibly a quigley, scarce as they are. I don't expect to find one that's a diesel so maybe there would be a swap down the line. If i sink enough money into it I'd probably make it my only vehicle. I am completely new to these vans and am more than a little afraid of buying a vehicle that old, though I've been very fortunate with all the cars of that era that i've owned that were other makes.

So, i'm looking for an enthusiast that might like to educate me a bit. I am a fan of the express vans especially the duramaxs but my budget is pointing me to older models with cheaper entry prices for now.

Thanks, Looking forward to learning and hopefully coming on board as an owner.

Eugene
Old July 8th, 2014, 5:00 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Look for vans that are rust free or very minimal rust. Every now and then good ones pop up on ebay. Search for G20 and G30. In my opinion you are better of with a pre-express style 90s van in good condition. They are easier to work on and more durable. 5.7 V8 is good reliable engine. Don't be afraid of the 6.5 diesel either. They get excellent mileage and there is a lot of internet help on them.
Old July 9th, 2014, 11:21 AM
CF Beginner

Thanks greenfire, I'm going to look into a quigley that is said to be in great condition with minimal rust. I've seen my toyota bodies disintegrate so not wanting to get into body work, but 4wd is tempting.