Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Help needed - no start condition (no power to fuel pump & fuel injectors)

Old March 11th, 2016, 2:39 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help needed - no start condition (no power to fuel pump & fuel injectors)

Dear forum members,

I am new to Chevy, new to US cars.
Bought a non-running 1996 Chevy Express Van which does not start.
Have checked for spark - it is there.
So, no fuel then.

The fuel pump does not come on when ignition key is turned to start/run position.
Pump is working when directly fed from +12V
But the engine would not start when pump is turning (from direct +12V) and the ignition key is turned to start/run.
Engine cranks over but does not start, not even catching.

Fuel pump relay is OK, checked that.
Fuses OK.
Power wires from relay to pump OK.

To me it seems that engine control computer does not give +12V to fuel relay and injectors when cranking the engine.
But Why?
Where to look?

Now there is also an issue with the fuel level sender. The needle on the instrument panel has maxed out and stays there all the time. The pump has been changed but I do not know if the no start condition started after changing the pump or later.

Is there any chance that the malfunctioning fuel level sender/gauge might be sending wrong signals to VMC and it does not provide further +12V to fuel pump and injectors because of that?

I don`t think this Van has a PassLock system since there is no SECURITY light ON and no contacts/senders on the ignition keys (original).

Where should I look now to identify no power to fuel pump and injectors condition?
I would really appreciate any hints on this.

Thank`s in advance!
Old March 11th, 2016, 9:32 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

How are you confirming the fuel pump relay is ok?