Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Stops when its hot out.

Search this Thread

Old August 8th, 2013, 10:11 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stops when its hot out.

I have a 2000 Express with v6, 140,000 miles, when the outside air gets over 90 degrees the motor stops. It might start for a minute or two and perhaps drive a mile or so, but it won't really go anywhere till the outside air gets below 90 degrees.
Its been doing this for 20,000 miles, I live in NorCal coast, so its not a problem unless I travel inland. I'm a carpenter and occasionally work it hard pulling trailers, etc... I've had it checked out by the shop with the best rep in town, they say it diagnostics fine. It shows no sign of overheating, and will restart for a moment with starter fluid, so it seems to not be an ignition problem. I do have a slight coolant leak (a quart of coolant every 1000 miles) that I'm trying to track down, but I keep the rad full and also the coolant reservoir.
I'm heading to Prescott in a few weeks to move Mom into a care facility and would like to be able to drive in the daytime.
Any help is appreciated.
ThomBoz
Old August 9th, 2013, 12:42 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think you have a Fuel Percolation problem...

I'm not sure just how much you know about cars, so...
Percolation is where part of the Fuel Line, is so close to something hot like a Manifold, that the heat is boiling the Fuel in the Line.

Also if you have a Heat Riser running through the Intake Manifold, if one of the Exhaust Pipe sides is restricted, that can cause the Carb to overheat (usually happens to older V8's so I'm not sure that it applies to your V6)

So...
You need to do a visual, all the way from the Tank to the Carb. If the Fuel Line is anywhere close to the Exhaust Pipe, you should re-route it some way.