Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

1949 Chevy 3100 Truck Help

Search this Thread

Old June 23rd, 2009, 9:02 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1949 Chevy 3100 Truck Help

Hey everyone,
This is my first time using this site. I'm just looking for help. My father passed away 9 months ago and he had a 1949 Chevy 3100 Truck, rear wheel drive, 2 door, V8. I am not too experienced with vehicles and it won't start. New transmission just put in. Could it be in the gas line? If anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.
-SA
Old June 23rd, 2009, 9:08 PM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome to the forum!!!!!
Its hard to tell with that description. Is it turning over ok? Is it trying to fire? Is it getting spark? Is the gas old?
Old June 24th, 2009, 1:18 AM
CF Beginner

Default Silence in the 3100

Unfortunately, it looks like everything under the hood is stock. Rusted, old parts. I know that about 3 years ago, I new spark plug was put in. As for the truck itself, when I turn the key, it is silent. Its not turning over, not firing, nothing. Its acting like I'm not even turning the key.
Thanks a bunch for helping,
SA
Old June 24th, 2009, 2:05 AM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds like you need to start with a battery then go from there.
Old June 24th, 2009, 5:16 AM
CF Active Member

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post

If that car has been standing still for so long, then it will be a lot of work, getting it to drive again. Dont just replace 1 thing. Because it will break down, once it has to struggle with the other parts that are broken down.

See it like a clockwork. All the raders in it are rusted and broken. Take out one rader and force it to turn around. for a while it will go well, but then it'll suffer from the other raders and break down anyway.