Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

2001 Chevy 2500 4x4 front driveshaft u joint

Search this Thread

Old October 31st, 2006, 3:09 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Chevy 2500 4x4 front driveshaft u joint

I have a u joint out on the front driveshaft on my 2001 Chevy 2500 4x4. It is the ujoint next to the transfercase.

I am no mechanic by any means but I assume I just need to remove the front bolts on the end nearest the front axle,

drop the shaft and pull it out from the transfercase? The rear ujoint has no bolts so assume this is the procedure?

There is a rubber bootie that is is held in place by a metal retainer on each end. Do I cut that? Will the shaft just slip off after the clips are cut or removed? Will I lose oil from the transfercase? and if so how much? Do you use a hose clamp to replace those factory clips on the bootie or what?

What is the best way to remove the old ujoint since there are no bolts on it? Sorry but this needs to be fixed asap and I in an area where

I cant get it to a real mechanic. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
Old October 31st, 2006, 8:33 PM
CF Active Member

Default RE: 2001 Chevy 2500 4x4 front driveshaft u joint

Im not familiar to your spacific vehicle but best bet is buying a haynes manual. they are very helpful.
Old February 22nd, 2007, 4:13 AM
CF Junior Member