Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Building an SBC 350

Search this Thread

Old October 19th, 2008, 9:45 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building an SBC 350

I'm building an SBC 350 with vortec heads, but I'm a noob to 350s and want to make sure I get everything straight before I go buying stuff I can't use.

If I'm using vortec heads, do they need a different bottom end? Someone is selling a vortec block for super cheap.
"Late model vortec 350 bare block in ready to build condition. four bolt main with caps and bolts. standard bore"
Is the description. It's the only vortec block I've ever seen, is this legit, or is the guy just misinformed?
Also, do all vortec heads use the same type of fuel injection, or do some use mechanical, some EFI, some carbed?

Also, will vortec heads for one car bolt up to a block from a different, older car? Basically can I interchange parts?
If not, what do I need to look for to see if they will interchange?
Old October 19th, 2008, 5:57 PM
CF Beginner

Default RE: Building an SBC 350

I don't have them on hand, that's as much as I know. I'll call the seller and get #'s tomorrow.
Old November 4th, 2008, 1:17 PM
CF Beginner

sorry for taking so long, the guy wouldn't email me back and that was the only way I could contact him. It's a 2 piece main, what does that even mean? the rear main seal is two pieces?
The casting number is 3970014 (1968-1976 chevy car or truck). Watcha got for me SBC gurus?
Old November 4th, 2008, 2:04 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post