Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Can someone help with very odd problem?

Search this Thread

Old March 10th, 2008, 9:41 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can someone help with very odd problem?

Hi all,
I have a 2002 Astro cargo with a V6 that is giving me fits. First off, I'm not a mechanic so there are volumes that i dont know about troubleshooting a car. So here's what's going on. Early last week I noticed that the van would take longer than usual to start. The starter had to be engaged for several seconds before it would hit.
On Thursday morning I went to get in it. I turned the key, and nothing. No clicks, no sounds, nothing. It's just like I have it in gear and try to crank it. So I put off looking at it until Saturday. I go out there in the afternoon, put the key in, cranks right up with no problem. I drive it around a bit, turn it off, cranks right back up. I crank/turn off several times and it works every time. So Sunday I go back to it, same situation, it works perfectly. Now we get to this morning. I get in, turn the key, nothing. No sounds, clicks, etc.
On Saturday and Sunday it was in the afternoon when I messed with it and on Thursday and today it was early morning. We have alot of moisture in the air the past few days and the mornings have been very cold.
I'm wondering if moisture is getting in somewhere and shorting something out. My guess is that it is one of these things: neutral switch, solenoid, or ignition switch. Can a more adept mechanic please give me some ideas on how to find out what it could be or where to look? I dont even know how to test these, I just plan on replacing one until it's fixed. I did notice that I dont seem to be able to buy just a solenoid, have to get the whole starter assembly so that will be the last thing to try.