Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Compression check

Search this Thread

Old April 12th, 2008, 12:48 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Compression check

I did a compression check on a 305 in a '86 C10, and i couldnt find thePSI that it should be making. 5 out of 8 cyl. were at 150psi while2 others were down at 120psiand the lastwas the worst 95psi.

Any help on this would be great, Thanks
Mike
Old April 12th, 2008, 5:05 PM
CF Beginner

Default RE: Compression check

I am no expert but try this. And good luck

Interpreting Compression Test Results
If all cylinders are performing equally and engine performance is acceptable, the engine passes the test.[*] Variations in compression between cylinders should be no more than 20%.[*] When two cylinders next to each other have low compression, a blown head gasket is usually indicated. [/ul]

A blown head gasket. [*] One or several cylinders with low compression and no apparent pattern of loss often indicates burned exhaust valves.[*] Rough idling is a symptom.[*] At higher rpm, the rough running from the burned valves disappears. [/ul] [align=left] NOTE [/align] On an engine at idle, a burned exhaust valve will cause a dollar bill to be sucked against the end of the exhaust pipe every time the bad cylinder's piston has an intake stroke.