2007 Impala TPMS issue - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

2007 Impala TPMS issue


  Reply  
Olbarny's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1

January 6th, 2012, 1:04 PM   #1  
2007 Impala TPMS issue

I have a 2007 Impala. Just had the tires replaced and a allignment. The tire dealer didn't reset the TPMS so I attempted to do it myself according to the owner's manual. Despite several attempts, I couldn't get all four sensors to reset (got three once!). Now, the "service TPMS" warning comes on everytime I start the car and the little flat tire light stays on while driving the car. I've been told, and from personal experience with shops dealers, that resolving the problem at a shop, will probably be over $500.....seems every repair starts at $500 and goes up from there! My question is this: will not repairing the TPMS really going to result in additional problems? I really don't want to spent several hundred dollars on something I didn't need for the first 40 years I've been driving.

 
Chevrolet Customer Service's Avatar
Official GM Rep

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,106
Global Headquarters in Detroit, MI

January 6th, 2012, 4:42 PM   #2  
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]--> It may be possible that one of the TPMS sensors are missing or not operating correctly. If so, the "Service TPMS" error message will display. Another possibility is the use of tire sealant, like Fix-A-Flat. It can damage the TPMS sensors. If a tire sealant was used before have the tires replaced, it is possible that a sensor may have been damaged. These are merely suggestions, not a diagnosis. For an official diagnosis, I encourage you to visit a certified technician.

You may also want to go back to the tire dealer to have the TPMS reset.

It is recommended that the TPMS is in working order, for your convenience and safety. Additional problems are possible if the tires are not maintained regularly.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Louis
GM Customer Service

 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,955
Bowie, MD

January 6th, 2012, 10:23 PM   #3  
You have a bad sensor. The sensor is around $80.00. The only labor charge should be to mount and balance the tire. Go buy the sensor yourself then take it back to the tire shop tell them it worked before they did tires. If they are a reputable shop they may do it free or discounted. Then you can go about reprograming it yourself.

 
EinST's Avatar
CF Veteran

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,706

January 6th, 2012, 10:53 PM   #4  
I remember another member having the same sort of problem, i.e., the TPMS learn using the DIC not working. He took it back to the tire shop and they were able to take care of it with the TPMS tool.

What the owner's manual doesn't tell you is, the sensor is on a 30-second polling cycle and thus it will not transmit immediately. The trick is to let the air out for 5-10 seconds (minimum 1 psi) and then patiently wait for the horn chirp which may be delayed up to 30 seconds.

As for living with the "Service TPMS" warning, it has no bearing on the operation of the vehicle. However, it may be an issue in those states that have vehicle inspection programs.

 
Greg Miller's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1

April 4th, 2013, 3:42 PM   #5  
Experiencing difficulties with the TPMS in my 2007 Impala ... recently had the tires rotated and now the warning light comes on saying 'Service TPMS' ... equally as interesting, the right side is reversed ... front tire reacts to the rear and visa versa.

 
rmcvay's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3

November 7th, 2013, 6:29 PM   #6  
Tpms

Posted By: Chevrolet Customer Service <!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]--> It may be possible that one of the TPMS sensors are missing or not operating correctly. If so, the "Service TPMS" error message will display. Another possibility is the use of tire sealant, like Fix-A-Flat. It can damage the TPMS sensors. If a tire sealant was used before have the tires replaced, it is possible that a sensor may have been damaged. These are merely suggestions, not a diagnosis. For an official diagnosis, I encourage you to visit a certified technician.

You may also want to go back to the tire dealer to have the TPMS reset.

It is recommended that the TPMS is in working order, for your convenience and safety. Additional problems are possible if the tires are not maintained regularly.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Louis
GM Customer Service

I have a 2007 Impala and the display tells me to check the left rear tire, and sometimes the right rear tire. Sometimes it says to check both of them. The tire pressures when checked show they are correct, but it constantly does this. Every once in a while the tire symbol goes out, sometimes it comes on... What's the deal??


Last edited by rmcvay; November 7th, 2013 at 6:30 PM. Reason: Typo
 
Chevrolet Customer Service's Avatar
Official GM Rep

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,106
Global Headquarters in Detroit, MI

November 8th, 2013, 10:24 AM   #7  
rmcvay,

I am sorry to hear you are having this concern. Please private message me your name, VIN, and dealership so I can look into this further for you.

Erica Tiffany
Chevrolet Customer Care

 
stinman's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5

April 24th, 2014, 4:36 PM   #8  
It seems I just experienced this very same thing. Going down the highway and it said to check left rear tire. I panicked, I went to check the pressure and the left rear went from 2lbs up to 69 lbs. I pulled over and looked, checked with a tire pressure gauge and it had 34 lbs. Now when I left the gauge staying on the rear tire pressure, it eventually leveled out to 34 lbs on both tires. After putting it back on mileage it started all over again. I just watch a video on how to re-set the sensors on a 2006 impala, will this be the same? I have not changed anything or rotated the tires (which I was about to do soon)
If I rotate tires and it's a bad sensor then it will end up on the front left,right? Could hitting a pot hole break a tire pressure sensor?
Not sure what to do?

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics