Impala While undergoing many facelifts in its history, the Impala has proved itself to both civilians and police forces as one of the most capable 4-door cars GM has ever offered. Currently moving towards its 10th generation the Impala is one of the longest lasting and popular models.

2014 Chevrolet Impala
Includes: Bel-air
Platform: B-body & W-body

2008 Impala engine oil light and loud bell, help please

Search this Thread

Old July 4th, 2011, 10:24 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2008 Impala engine oil light and loud bell, help please

Hi, newbie here. Today our 2008 Impala with dual fuel v6 running on gas (never run on anything else) started sounding a loud clanging bell and a "low oil pressure, stop engine" light came on. Outside air temp about 85 degrees. Driving about 70 on the interstate.

There were no strange clatters from engine. Oil is full and recently changed. No leaks underneath. Car runs well and didn't lose power ever. It didn't overheat.

If we stopped the car and shut it off, it might stop the warning for a while and then start the clanging and the light again. If we slowed way down to maybe 5 - 10 mph it might stop clanging the bell and showing the light but maybe not.

Finally I pulled over and called a tow truck. Right now the car is sitting at a Chevy dealer. I couldn't risk blowing an engine.

Does anyone have any idea what could cause this - like, is this something that's known for these cars? I'm afraid an unknown dealer may take me to the cleaners when it's just a sensor or something.

All ideas and suggestions appreciated. Thanks!!

Last edited by Gunner3456; July 4th, 2011 at 10:38 PM.
The following users liked this post:
JohnnyGeeWhiz (December 26th, 2023)
Old July 5th, 2011, 11:55 AM
CF Beginner

Well, just reporting back. The Chevy dealer just called and it's only the sensor. Total charge including diagnostics is $160. We also paid $160 for the tow.

I feel as if it's my lucky day.
Old July 6th, 2011, 1:02 PM