Impala While undergoing many facelifts in its history, the Impala has proved itself to both civilians and police forces as one of the most capable 4-door cars GM has ever offered. Currently moving towards its 10th generation the Impala is one of the longest lasting and popular models.

2014 Chevrolet Impala
Includes: Bel-air
Platform: B-body & W-body

Need some help with a 2006 Impala...PLEASE!!!

Search this Thread

Old October 20th, 2013, 6:12 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help with a 2006 Impala...PLEASE!!!

Hey guys, I need some help.

I am a 10-year VW mechanic. I have always worked on imports, mostly European.

Anyway, a buddy of mine has a 2006 Impala with a 3.9L V6 and an automatic transmission. It has been leaking oil, so he took it to a dealer. The dealer told him it was leaking from the head gaskets, and quoted $2600 for the repairs.

I looked at it. Sure enough, leaking oil from the head gaskets. I looked up the procedure on Alldata, and priced the parts. The procedure looked ok, pretty standard heavy line work. The parts were reasonably priced. I figured I could knock it out in a day, two tops.

I started on the car yesterday. The work went without issue, except for one broken stud on the exhaust pipe (crossover pipe?) above the transmission. I finished up the work today (I wanted to take my time). I ended up replacing the head gaskets (they came in a service kit with valve seals, and intake gaskets), the spark plugs, the ECT, and I performed an oil change. I turned the engine over by hand without issue.

So, my problem: the car won't start now, and the key is stuck in the ignition.

The last thing I did after turning the engine over by hand was reconnect the battery, which I had disconnected (yesterday) before removing the alternator.