Malibu Another long running GM name, the Malibu has overcome many changes to be one of the top mid size sedans heading into its eight generation.

Chevrolet Malibu
This area is for FWD models 1997 and newer
Platform: N-, Epsilon, Epsilon II.

2011 Malibu remote start issue ?

Search this Thread

Old November 1st, 2011, 6:36 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2011 Malibu remote start issue ?

I bought a 2011 Malibu three months ago. At that time the dealership installed an aftermarket remote starter on the car, which we plan on taking advantage of during the winter. Fast forward to yesterday, when the car would not start. Had it towed to the dealership. They say the starter relay got fried and that is because we kept using the original GM keyfobs to lock/unlock the doors instead of the ones that came with the remote starter.
Can this be true ? I have a hard time believing it, not only because I am an electrical engineer.
Anyone else had this happen to them ?
Old November 1st, 2011, 10:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the forum. After looking over a typical aftermarket remote starter system, I shudder at how these things are grafted on, with wire splices galore. Needless, I wouldn't take one of those if they paid me. Which starter relay "got fried," did they say? It may make sense if the relay is part of the aftermarket addition.
Old November 1st, 2011, 10:12 PM
Administrator

Received 42 Likes on 42 Posts

I'm not seeing the connection either... are they saying that when the vehicle was locked and un-locked with the factory fobs the starter relay was being engaged?!?! cough cough bullsh** cough....
Old November 1st, 2011, 10:34 PM
CF Veteran