keyless entry program 2005 malibu - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

keyless entry program 2005 malibu


  Reply  
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1

August 4th, 2007, 8:03 PM   #1  
keyless entry program 2005 malibu

I brought a 05 malibu from a small car lot. It had a keyless entry remote to go with it but the keyless entry does not work.
Can anyone help me with programing this remote...

thanks




 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6

August 11th, 2007, 9:04 PM   #2  
RE: keyless entry program 2005 malibu

Have you checked the remote battery? You can call the dealer and they can tell you which remote is correct for your vehicle to make sure the one you have is right. My dealer quoted about $60.00 to program one or two remotes and about $80.00 per remote if I bought them there. I bought from fleabay for $15.00 per remote including shipping, the guy there provides intructions to program remotes yourself on certain brands and models.

 
tahoe07's Avatar
CF Veteran

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,136

August 11th, 2007, 10:22 PM   #3  
RE: keyless entry program 2005 malibu

Doesn't look like you can program it yourself. You'll have to go to dealer.

Check this site, you'll see...
http://www.programyourremote.com/

 
sirMichael's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3

December 1st, 2008, 8:37 AM   #4  
RE: keyless entry program 2005 malibu

Hi Please try changing a battery. This usually helps. You can purchase a battery from our website. We offer free shipping for batteries. Please click on this link below to select the proper battery for your remote. http://www.carandtruckremotes.com/batteries.html If you changed the battery and the remote still does not work, most likely you need a new remote. You can purchase a brand new or used good condition (B-stock) remote on our website. All remotes come with a 90 day money back policy. Please click on this link to our website below http://www.carandtruckremotes.com If you have any more questions please contact us at customercare@carandtruckremotes.com You can also view our FAQ page for answers to common questions. Link below http://www.carandtruckremotes.com/faq.html Best Regards Customer Care http://www.carandtruckremotes.com http://www.newkeylessremotes.com http://www.keylessentrystore.com

 
doubled50's Avatar
Junior Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3

February 24th, 2009, 10:24 PM   #5  
So what's the verdict? You have to have a scan tool in order to program an extra remote? I have 3 total fobs and only one works, the other my buddy gave me from his 2007 Impala. They are all exactly the same with the remote start. I really want to make these compatible, but for $60 you gotta be kidding me!!!!

 
slls's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 65

February 25th, 2009, 10:26 AM   #6  
Posted By: doubled50 So what's the verdict? You have to have a scan tool in order to program an extra remote? I have 3 total fobs and only one works, the other my buddy gave me from his 2007 Impala. They are all exactly the same with the remote start. I really want to make these compatible, but for $60 you gotta be kidding me!!!!
Heck, just buy a Tech 2, only about 3-4 grand.

 
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,571

February 25th, 2009, 4:15 PM   #7  
the remote start wil not work unless you buy the GM accessory kit

 
doubled50's Avatar
Junior Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3

March 1st, 2009, 12:28 PM   #8  
All that being said, does anyone know if the FOB from a 07 impala will work on an 05 Malibu. They are both on the same platform (old body style still) and the FOB's look identical, both have the remote start functions and both cars had remote start. I have 1 with my Bu and got 2 from the Impala. Just wanna know if I can get them programmed to my Bu.

 
gdvalente's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1

June 19th, 2013, 3:03 PM   #9  
My '09 Malibu rke works intermittently and sometimes it is just sluggish. I've changed batteries several times to no avail. Does anyone know where the receiver antenna is located? Could it be blocked or dirty? Any other ideas?

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics