Monte Carlo & Lumina Since the 1970s, the Monte Carlo has been an icon of American stock car racing. A 4-door version, the Lumina, was produced in the late 90's.
Platform: A-, G-, & W-body

Thud when turning left.

Search this Thread

Old October 6th, 2009, 11:49 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thud when turning left.

I recently, within the past week, noticed a thud sound when I turn hard left. I have no idea what it is or what it could be, as I am no mechanic. I had replaced the driver side ball joint about a month ago, but feel this is unrelated. I can cause the noise when parked by turning the wheel all the way to the left lock and turning it back to center. It doesn't make the noise when turning the wheel all the way to the right. When I'm driving it feels similar to hitting a small stone or ridge in the street, but I'm not hitting anything.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you all.

Edit: I failed to mention that the steering is smooth. The power assist works properly, and there is no snag when turned from the left. The wheel is responsive as it should be. The car needs an alignment since the ball joint work. I just can't figure out what else would be causing the thud.

Last edited by metalmike187; October 6th, 2009 at 2:24 PM. Reason: Missing details.
Old October 12th, 2009, 10:12 AM
Taz
CF Beginner
MonteCarloForum Liaison

Not sure what year your car is, but the 2000+ Monte's have a common problem with the Intermittent Steering Shaft. Occasionally you get that clunking sound. Usually greasing it up (or getting it greased) takes care of it. Did with mine. But it's starting to come back. Time to get mine done again soon.
Old October 13th, 2009, 6:52 PM
CF Beginner

It's a 1995 with the 3.1L engine. I'm not sure it has an intermittent shaft, as those I think were only on the 3.4L engines. It comes and goes, which is weird. I tried WD-40 on the Tie rod, Tie Rod end, CV, Drive Axel, and anything else in the vicinity.