S-10 & Blazer 1982-2005
The S-10 and Blazer was arguably the most versatile and accessorizable mid-size truck and SUV on the market.
Platform: S/T-series & GMT 330

4.3 Issues please help Im lost!!!

Search this Thread

Old February 24th, 2013, 9:32 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 4.3 Issues please help Im lost!!!

Hello all Im a noob here and couldnt find where to introduce myself. Im Steve,
I have a 01 chevy s10 with the 4.3l vortec motor.The truck has 190,xxx miles and has sat for what I was told for about a year not running.
The issue is when the motor is cold it will start and run but barley, almost like its out of time.
I have put a breaker bar on crankshaft pulley and checked for slop in timing chain and seems fine. The idle jumps from about 600rpm to about 1500rpm the motor seems to kinda make a knocking noise when rpm is low due to im guessing loosing oil pres. due to almost stalling..
It Has multi cyl miss-fires when I push gas it will will barley gain rpm if at all.
after a short while like a minute or so will stall like the spark plugs not burning enough of fuel.. today I ran odbII test and have a like three codes. it wasnt my computer so I didnt get to save code. However one of them is the crank position sensor, today I got two of them from a junk yard, and put one in.. The truck ran better than Ive ever heard it run which has only been four times, It ran great for about 5 minutes then back to same thing stalled and wouldnt start. There seemed to be what looked like gas on the sensor when I pulled it back out..It didnt smell like gas so im guess was water.. would it be possible that there is water from condensation from sitting or am I looking at a cracked head or gasket? or maybe a cracked block? I need help please and thank you all! If you need anymore info please feel free to ask I will give you all info I can..
Old February 25th, 2013, 8:44 PM
CF Beginner

Default in wrong place?