S-10 & Blazer 1982-2005
The S-10 and Blazer was arguably the most versatile and accessorizable mid-size truck and SUV on the market.
Platform: S/T-series & GMT 330

coolant questions

Search this Thread

Old April 17th, 2012, 9:17 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default coolant questions

I'm new to Chevy and just bought a 96 s-10 with a 4.3L (x) 5spd with 160k. I gave it a tune up(plugs, wires, dist cap, rotor, oil, air/oil/fuel filters) complete with a new distributor since the last guy cross thread the old rotor on both screws.

Anyway, it runs great. Has the very very slightest stumble at idle sometimes. Stays pretty constant at idle between 710-750 rpm. The coolant though in the coolant reservoir is dark. Almost black. It's not oily, there's no shine. There's no coolant or water in the oil and there's no moisture in the exhaust pipe. I haven't used this dex cool coolant before so I'm not used to it or how it looks. Reading on here I've seen that that stuff can get pretty gross and sludgy overtime. The engine temp is great though. Just a little over a quarter of the way warm (I forget the temp range on the gauge).

I also have a leak coming from the crank pulley or the water pump above it(I haven't looked at it that deep yet). I never see any leaks on the ground but it's definitely wet under there. It's seems like water. Reading on here I see that it could be an indication of an intake gasket problem.

I guess my question is, is the dark coolant a symptom of the intake gasket or do you think it's just nasty and the system needs to be flushed? It could be the original coolant as far as I know. I'm thinking about flushing the system out tomorrow I'm just hesitant because if it's the intake I'd like to do that all at once. I won't be able to do the intake for 2 weeks though but then I'll have 2 weeks to do it and since the temp is running well now....... Any ideas?

Sorry for the novel here. Thanks in advance.
Old April 18th, 2012, 10:43 AM
CF Monarch