S-10 & Blazer 1982-2005
The S-10 and Blazer was arguably the most versatile and accessorizable mid-size truck and SUV on the market.
Platform: S/T-series & GMT 330

Electric fan conversion

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2008, 5:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric fan conversion

Hello, I have a 1996 s10 4.3. I read on here that a ford taurus electric fan is a great fan to install if I want to put an electric fan on it. I was wondering how would I go about making this modification?

Thank you.
Old May 4th, 2008, 10:07 PM
CF Monarch

Received 26 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Electric fan conversion

Its only a great fan because it comes close to fitting as-is on the S10 without modification.
Here is a post I found digging around on the web:
Since I did my 3" Trailmaster body lift on my 1st gen I installed a 15" Hayden/Imperial e-fan because my clutch fan didn't line up with the radiator anymore and I didn't want to relocate the rad.... It seemed to work well for my 4.3 CPI Vortec... Well, that is until you ran the AC... When running the AC and being stuck in City traffic (Pittsburgh Rush hour) and blowing steam out of my rad 3 times.... Not seeing a justification for the price of the dual magic fan ($200.00) or even a used LS1 fan ($125.00) I decided to hunt down the popular Taurus dual speed electric fan.... After finding one (there were several) in my local wrecking yard, I picked one up for $35.00 (a bargain considering my hayden/imperial cost me 80 bux from Advance Autoparts)...

Since I already had my thermostat wiring, power, diodes in place for my hayden (using the s-seriesforum.org efan how-to for the wiring) I simply removed the top portion of my OEM 4.3 fan shroud and cut the zip/fin ties that held my Hayden/Imperial 15" fan on. (These are the same ones that come with most fans, they can be bought seperatly at advance for $2.00 for a pack of 4).