Notices
1999 - 2006 (GMT800) Section for all discussion related to the 1999-2006 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Bumpy ride, what's wrong with my suspension?

Search this Thread

Old February 24th, 2017, 6:51 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Bumpy ride, what's wrong with my suspension?

Hi, First off, this truck is fairly new to me, I've only owned it for about a 6 weeks now. It's an original, stock 2000 Chevy Silverado 1500, ext cab., 4x4, auto. trans. with the 5.3 L motor. It has 210,000 miles on it. I am the second owner, the original owner lived in Florida and wasn't at all abusive to the truck. When he sold it to me, he didn't say anything about the suspension bothering him.

Since I'm no expert, I figured I'd start with what I know and buy some new shocks for it. My shock test seemed to fail as well (pushing down on the bumpers were shaky). So, since I like my new truck and I want to take care of it, I bought an upgrade to the OE shocks, KYB gas a just for the front and rear. I replaced them myself, greased up the front end, and lubed up all my nuts and bolts to protect them from my salty winter roads.

Unfortunately, the shocks were the solution to my front end problem(s).

PROBLEM,
So, I am wondering what is causing the front end to jump around and rattle the whole truck (it seems)? I pretty much feel ever little bump in the road! My truck also seems to have quite a bit of play/sway for side to side as well, when turning the steering wheel. In fact, one day I was at a stop light and noticed that the speeding cars passing by were actually shaking the truck. So, what aspect/part of the front suspension stabilizes the truck from the small bumpy roads? The problem seems premature to the shocks activation. I would also like to know about the swaying from side to side problem?

I don't plan on going off road much, but would like the truck to be able to handle better. I've attached a couple of pictures so you can see what parts I have.