03-06 Silverado Instrument/ Gauge Fix - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

03-06 Silverado Instrument/ Gauge Fix


  Reply  
flash_hudson's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4

August 6th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #1  
03-06 Silverado Instrument/ Gauge Fix

Hey guys,

I just joined and did a quick search, and didn't see the fix for the Chevy Stepper Motor problem (for those of you like me that are out of warranty).

Check out this instructional site:

http://montecarloforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12319


I know it came from the monte carlo forum, but I used it for my 03 Silverado. A few tips I can give are-

1. My truck will crank up and drive around without the instrument cluster installed, so yours probably will too (in case you can't get done before having to go somewhere.

2. I ordered my stepper motors off Ebay (about $7 each). They came before the end of the week.

3. I am not a master soldering expert, but I was Very careful, and had a helper gently pull the motors off the board while I gently burned the solder off. The boards are not super fragile, but I did burn one to the point that it wouldn't work correctly, and I had to go back a dozen times adding solder until it connected with the printed circuit.

4. Some of the problems I had before were my tachometer read about half engine speed most days, and read correctly about once every two weeks. My speedometer would get hung up going back towards zero, but move when accelerating. I had to take a photo of it when it got down to about the 5 o'clock position so I could tell everyone my truck does 160. Every time I cranked it, it would drop 5 mph, so I could reset it before leaving the house if I wanted to crank my truck 30 times in a row.

5. After re-installing the stepper motors, half of my dash lights quit working, and the bulbs solder in as well (who thought that up?). My oil pressure gauge would crank around backwards, but that was caused by me burning up that connection mentioned above. You do not have to re-assemble the whole thing to plug it up and test it. I suggest you don't, because like I said, I had to go back and forth about a dozen times.

Hope this helps,
Flash


Last edited by flash_hudson; August 7th, 2009 at 7:53 AM.
 
EvansBlue's Avatar
CF Monarch

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,151
Princeton, NC, USA

August 7th, 2009, 8:18 AM   #2  
Thanks for the link and advice. It certainly is a common problem.

 
CJ_Tiz's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 75

August 13th, 2009, 12:15 PM   #3  
Just a heads up. There was a service bulletin put out for this year and is good till 80k. I have an 04 and they just replaced my whole cluster at no cost.

 
jameseroot's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17

December 8th, 2009, 8:08 AM   #4  
I was out of warrenty also. but i just gave them a little bit fo razin, and they said they would fix it for free. was surprised, but hey they fixed it.

 
schristi69's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20

December 28th, 2009, 2:55 PM   #5  
You can get a replacement/rebuilt cluster off of a guy on Ebay. He totally rebuilds all motors and lights and gives a guarantee

 
tat2dup81's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Kansas City, MO

December 30th, 2009, 4:08 PM   #6  
i had same prob. found guy off ebay and they took care of me. ordered cluster on the 23rd and got to my house on the 28th. plug and play. they are digital dash solutions on ebay

 
racerx55's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 236

December 31st, 2009, 1:15 AM   #7  
is 05 included or no? my gauges have been acting up for a month. im out of warranty but only have 53k on the truck.
debating just buying a rebuilt SS style.
ive dealt with DDS before, they are good to deal with.

 
tat2dup81's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Kansas City, MO

December 31st, 2009, 7:32 AM   #8  
are you talking bout the warranty issue with your 05? that i dont know. but i ordered an escalade cluster for my truck and it works/looks good.

 
ddtx's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1

January 5th, 2010, 9:56 AM   #9  
I just talked with a Chevy service guy, and he said that the 03 chevy trucks speedometer cluster is covered up to 95,000 miles. The 05 were covered up to 70,000 miles. They just have to get the code off the computor to odere it.

 
scottyv6290's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8

January 5th, 2010, 1:02 PM   #10  
Posted By: ddtx I just talked with a Chevy service guy, and he said that the 03 chevy trucks speedometer cluster is covered up to 95,000 miles. The 05 were covered up to 70,000 miles. They just have to get the code off the computor to odere it.

I have just purchased a 06 Silverado and don't have any guage problems that I have noticed. Could you guys please describe what the symptoms are for the problem you are describing? I would love to know what to look for and be able to get it fixed under the service bulletin if my truck has the same problem

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics