Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

1997 Chevy 1500 spark plugs and fuel filter

Search this Thread

Old November 5th, 2010, 8:21 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1997 Chevy 1500 spark plugs and fuel filter

I'm new to the thread and to trucks in general. I want to change the spark plugs on my 1997 c1500 pickup as well as the fuel filter. I've searched the forum but haven't found a good thread detailing how to locate and change the spark plugs. Likewise for the fuel filter. Can anyone either help me locate the spark plugs and the fuel filter or direct me to a thread that provides this information? I know silly questions. I've done some of this stuff on an older dodge but not on this particular truck. Thanks for your help.

B
Old November 5th, 2010, 8:53 AM
CF Active Member

well the spark plugs arent to hard to find look on side the block you should see some wires goin in to the side of it depending if you have a v6(3 wires on each side) or v8(4 wires on each side) makes sure when u install them that there spaced corectly and if you hava an aluminum block i dont think u dont tho use aniseeze

as far as the fuel filter there on the bottom of the truck back around the tank follow the lines till u see what your fuel filter looks like most of them look like a small cylender before changing it make sure your gas cap is off or it will sif your gas out u will loose a small bit of gas but not much(sorry forgot to mention its mounted on the frame) after install it may not start up at first its comon

hope this helps
Old November 5th, 2010, 10:01 AM
CF Active Member

would be a good idea to spray penetrating oil on fuel filter nuts fow a few days before you try to change the filter.