Go Back   Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums > Current Chevy Trucks, SUV's, Crossovers & Vans > Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by: Bakliner

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:37 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default 2004 Silverado Z71 Cruise Control not working?

Hi All.

Just returned from a 5600 mile trip in which I used the cruise control the whole time. Now I am home and I got stuck in a snow bank the other day and had to use come-alongs to get myself out. The ABS light came on for a brief period and then went off. But now the cruise control will not come on. If you press the on/off button fast several times you can get the indicator light in the dash to illuminate for a split second. I have checked the 10Amp fuse in the dash and it looks fine, and I tried the spare and no avail. Does anybody have any ideas where to start?
Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2009, 05:57 PM
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,571
Default

First of all, check your brake lights. Make sure they are all working.
Next, go to the cruise module under the hood and check for voltage as follows:

Pin A Grey: 12v when cruise is turned on
Pin B Dk Blue: 12v when set\coast is pressed
Pin C Grey\BLK: 12v When resume\accel is pressed
Pin D Bown\white: 12v with key on, 0v when brakes pressed
Pin E Black\white: ground
Pin F Brown: 12v when key is in ignition position
Pin G Light Blue: 12v When the brake is pressed AND less then 1 ohm to ground when brakes are not pressed
Pin K Dk Green\white: VSS signal...set multimeter to a\c voltage, should increase as vehicle speed increases


If all wires check out ok, and the throttle cable is not binding or stuck, then replace the cruise module
__________________

If you have a question, ask it in the forums. I will no longer be answering questions sent to my email.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:38 PM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LAke Charles, LA
Posts: 221
Default

arnt the 04 models the drive by wire and the cruise in the pcm?
__________________
2000 5.3 extended cab, Aem Brute Force Intake, Throttle body spacer, Flexalite Electric fans,EFI Live Tune, 07 Tahoe Factory 20" wheels
1989 GMC 5.7 single cab, soon to be 383, bagged lots of body mods in pieces right now
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:04 PM
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,571
Default

I'm not sure. I Checked the service info, and it showed a cruise module for the '04's.
__________________

If you have a question, ask it in the forums. I will no longer be answering questions sent to my email.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2009, 08:58 PM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LAke Charles, LA
Posts: 221
Default

well i know if it has a v8 all you have to do is change the blinker switch for one with cruise from 03 to 07 classic the v6 still had the manual throttle with the seperate cruise box
__________________
2000 5.3 extended cab, Aem Brute Force Intake, Throttle body spacer, Flexalite Electric fans,EFI Live Tune, 07 Tahoe Factory 20" wheels
1989 GMC 5.7 single cab, soon to be 383, bagged lots of body mods in pieces right now
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2009, 08:49 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

New here....actually came to this forum for this topic!


I was having the EXACT same problem you were in my 04' stepside z-71 cept it happened i went and did a little mudding....


Then my headunit started acting funny, it wouldnt turn off after i had turned my truck I had to manually turn the head unit off.


So i proceeded to tear out my head unit and i traced my problem to the scosche wiring harness that i had....unplugged everything and put everything back together and then my cruise started working again.


While im not for sure it was that, that was making my cruise not work, it might be worth looking into.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:50 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

so did you find out how to fix your truck and where is the
scosche wiring harness because i dident find one

Last edited by earixson86; 12-14-2009 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:24 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

so no one knows how to fix this or has any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:46 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

well i had an aftermarket headunit...but i had also took the battery out and put it back in then everything started working again...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:59 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

i will try it
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:59 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
04, 2004, 2008, brake, chevy, colorado, control, cruise, fuse, light, problems, silverado, tahoe, v8, wiring, working


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Join Chevroletforum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup