Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

2007 Silverado 4wd problem

Search this Thread

Old December 8th, 2009, 11:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 Silverado 4wd problem

I admit I am not an expert with how 4x4 systems work, that's why I'm here. I purchased a 2007 Silverado (new body style) this summer. We just got our first big snow storm tonight, and I backed out of the driveway and was stuck on the street in front of the house as cars drove by. I was able to roll down the window and crank the front wheels so I could see the tire and it didn't move even when locked in 4 high.
I assume that all tires should move at the same in that setting? The light flashes for quite a while before locking into the 4 high setting. Is that normal? Any ideas on what the problem could be?
Old December 9th, 2009, 4:25 PM
CF Beginner

I'm a newbie with 4 wheel drive, too. I haven't even used mine, yet. (got my truck in August - 1st 4x4) But, according to the manual it says to shift into 4 wheel drive high at any speed. So, would you assume you have to be moving in order to shift into 4 wheel drive? I didn't think it could be done at a stop but I'm not sure. Hopefully someone with experience (I'm sure there's plenty on this board) can chime in.

Actually, I did try the 4 wheel drive once - it was wet out and I went in a straight line just to see if it worked. I was doing about 20 mph and it shifted into 4 wheel high very quickly and smoothly.

Not sure about doing that at a stop, though. I'd like to know.
Old December 9th, 2009, 8:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i've heard with the new 4x4 systems they are shift on the fly systems. you could
try it.
Old December 10th, 2009, 8:25 AM
CF Beginner