99' 1500 Torque Converter Issue - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

99' 1500 Torque Converter Issue


  Reply  
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Courteney B.C. Canada

April 12th, 2011, 1:08 PM   #1  
CF Beginner
99' 1500 Torque Converter Issue

I have a 99 Silverado 1500 and I put in a rebuilt 5.3L Vortec, and kept the same transmission (4L60-E). The previous 4.8L was seized from some punk doing donuts. It wasn't and immediate seize, the kid managed to drive all the way home but once he stopped it was sezied. I am just wondering if when he siezed it could've blown out the torque converter? Because I replaced the transmission pump and had it completely disassembled, the valve body and all the bands looked fine. The only thing left I can think of is the torque converter being pooched, unless I need to replace the whole transmission which I am trying to avoid.

 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,706

April 12th, 2011, 5:55 PM   #2  
CF Veteran
Hmm, you seem to have forgotten to include something. What exactly is the issue with the torque converter?

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Courteney B.C. Canada

April 13th, 2011, 11:10 PM   #3  
CF Beginner
Well the truck won't move so I am thinking something with the turbine, or something. I'm not sure if the tran can still pump fluid through the cooler with amplified torque converter but info have flow through the cooler. But yea the truck won't move...

 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,706

April 14th, 2011, 11:15 AM   #4  
CF Veteran
Assuming it isn't misplaced check ***** or valves put in backwards in the valve body, I guess something catastrophic could have happened to the torque converter. I know it's going to be a lot of work but send it out to get it checked?

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Courteney B.C. Canada

April 19th, 2011, 12:25 PM   #5  
CF Beginner
well when I re-assembled the valve body I had the diagram from OnDemand 5. I followed every step perfectly and have friend in my shop who works at a tran. shop. So I am sure the ***** and valves are correct..

 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,706

April 19th, 2011, 5:19 PM   #6  
CF Veteran
Okay, that leaves the torque converter itself, then. The only way to be sure is to send it out, I suppose.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics