Go Back   Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums > Current Chevy Trucks, SUV's, Crossovers & Vans > Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by: Bakliner

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-01-2012, 11:00 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
Default anybody know how to reset idle on a 07 silverado?

so i put new cats on to resolve my last problem and the engine light came back on p0121 throttle position sensor ckt A
i opened the throttle body up and cleaned it out and spayed the sensor down with napa "electrical parts cleaner". reinstalled on my truck and i started the truck up and it idled at 1500 rpm i put it in gear and it dropped down and stayed at idle again but if i touch the gas it will shoot up to 1500. put a new throttle body on it today and drove 90 miles and still the same. so i followed a procedure i read by: pulled the pcm fuse out and let it sit for 5 mins then put it back in let it idle in drive with the parking brake set for 5 mins then a/c on full blast for 5 then a/c off and in park for 5 then shut it off like i read in another thread. still does the same thing and i noticed after i drove it around some back roads and highway(about 50 miles) that if i put it in drive from a stop it would take off and pull itself up a decent hill and power its way to 3rd gear on a flat surface. also slipped it out of drive into neutral a few times and rms would shoot up to 3000 rpm till the vehicle would come to a stop then it would slowly drop to 600.
any help would be appreciated.
its going into the dealership tuesday for computer work is there any way for them to adjust the idle in the short time they are fooling with it?

truck info.
2007 chevy silverado (newstyle) z71 4x4 5.3 with the M 8th digit.

if i left any information out let me know. im going to drive it 90 miles again tommoro.
Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2012, 07:02 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: matheson Ontario Canada
Posts: 4
Default

It has to go to the dealer to be relearned with the scanner! I just had 2 trucks at work with the same prob!! i tried everything! even with 2 weeks of driving thinking it might relearn on its own, but no they didnt.Took to dealer and took 40min. to reset and good to go! Modern technology such a good thing LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2012, 07:40 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
Default

About how much did that run you? Im out of warranty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2012, 12:35 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
Default

103 to program the idle. Ill just leave it till it gets bad maybe it needs to program itself
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:27 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: matheson Ontario Canada
Posts: 4
Default

here it only cost 89 bucks tax included!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2012, 05:45 PM
CF Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: nebraska
Posts: 577
Default

did you reinstall the TPS the same it came out? It haven't done an 07 but sometimes you have to kind of "clock" them just right or the sensor will be out of adjustment.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2012, 07:29 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Its back in sync with the truck. Works fine now. I drove it about 200 miles
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:03 PM
CF Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39
Default

A local tuner can do it with efi live or hp tuners
Mine charges 25bucks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2012, 03:35 PM
ukrkoz's Avatar
CF Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 435
Default

out of curiosity - is it a drive by wire system? gas pedal on 07?
__________________
2000 SILVERADO 1500 CENTURION EDITION, 5.3 VORTEC

DON'T FIX IT IF IT AIN'T BROK;
IF IT'S BROK, FIX IT RIGHT AWAY.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2012, 05:37 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: matheson Ontario Canada
Posts: 4
Default

yes they are! personally i dont like that system.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:37 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
07, 08, 2007, body, chevrolet, chevy, clear, engine, fuse, idle, light, pcm, procedure, relearn, removing, reset, silverado, speed, throttle, ti, truck


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Join Chevroletforum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup