anybody know how to reset idle on a 07 silverado? - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

anybody know how to reset idle on a 07 silverado?


  Reply  
94racing's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19

March 1st, 2012, 11:00 PM   #1  
anybody know how to reset idle on a 07 silverado?

so i put new cats on to resolve my last problem and the engine light came back on p0121 throttle position sensor ckt A
i opened the throttle body up and cleaned it out and spayed the sensor down with napa "electrical parts cleaner". reinstalled on my truck and i started the truck up and it idled at 1500 rpm i put it in gear and it dropped down and stayed at idle again but if i touch the gas it will shoot up to 1500. put a new throttle body on it today and drove 90 miles and still the same. so i followed a procedure i read by: pulled the pcm fuse out and let it sit for 5 mins then put it back in let it idle in drive with the parking brake set for 5 mins then a/c on full blast for 5 then a/c off and in park for 5 then shut it off like i read in another thread. still does the same thing and i noticed after i drove it around some back roads and highway(about 50 miles) that if i put it in drive from a stop it would take off and pull itself up a decent hill and power its way to 3rd gear on a flat surface. also slipped it out of drive into neutral a few times and rms would shoot up to 3000 rpm till the vehicle would come to a stop then it would slowly drop to 600.
any help would be appreciated.
its going into the dealership tuesday for computer work is there any way for them to adjust the idle in the short time they are fooling with it?

truck info.
2007 chevy silverado (newstyle) z71 4x4 5.3 with the M 8th digit.

if i left any information out let me know. im going to drive it 90 miles again tommoro.

 
procharger camaro's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
matheson Ontario Canada

March 2nd, 2012, 7:02 AM   #2  
It has to go to the dealer to be relearned with the scanner! I just had 2 trucks at work with the same prob!! i tried everything! even with 2 weeks of driving thinking it might relearn on its own, but no they didnt.Took to dealer and took 40min. to reset and good to go! Modern technology such a good thing LOL.

 
94racing's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19

March 2nd, 2012, 7:40 AM   #3  
About how much did that run you? Im out of warranty

 
94racing's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19

March 2nd, 2012, 12:35 PM   #4  
103 to program the idle. Ill just leave it till it gets bad maybe it needs to program itself

 
procharger camaro's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
matheson Ontario Canada

March 3rd, 2012, 9:27 AM   #5  
here it only cost 89 bucks tax included!

 
cleveland63b's Avatar
CF Veteran

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,430
nebraska

March 3rd, 2012, 5:45 PM   #6  
did you reinstall the TPS the same it came out? It haven't done an 07 but sometimes you have to kind of "clock" them just right or the sensor will be out of adjustment.

 
94racing's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19

March 3rd, 2012, 7:29 PM   #7  
Its back in sync with the truck. Works fine now. I drove it about 200 miles

 
Exhausted's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39

March 3rd, 2012, 8:03 PM   #8  
A local tuner can do it with efi live or hp tuners
Mine charges 25bucks

 
ukrkoz's Avatar
CF Senior Member

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 435

March 4th, 2012, 3:35 PM   #9  
out of curiosity - is it a drive by wire system? gas pedal on 07?

 
procharger camaro's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
matheson Ontario Canada

March 5th, 2012, 5:37 AM   #10  
yes they are! personally i dont like that system.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics