Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Drastic drop in MPG with no change in Engine Performance..

Search this Thread

Old February 18th, 2010, 9:29 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Drastic drop in MPG with no change in Engine Performance..

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the forum but I have a problem with my 2001 v-6 Silverado that I can't figure out. I'm not a good mechanic but I know some of the basics and here's what I do know...

In the last 8 months my gas mileage has dropped from 18/20 to sub-15/18 with no noticable difference is enginer power, performance. I've replaced the spark plugs, air filter, and fuel filter with no effect. I've ran injector cleaner through a couple of times with no effect either. I've had it in the shop and they hooked it up to their computer and couldn't find anything wrong with any of the temperature/O2 sensors. The only thing I know that isn't working properly is the check valve on the fuel tank, the fuel pump works fine but when it shuts off the fuel pressure drops off quickly. Once the truck is running it maintains a constant 60 psi pressure.

I do have 141k miles on it so I could understand perhaps a small drop in gas mileage but not something this drastic. I'll say again that I have noticed absolutely no drop in power/acceleration/etc. I don't think its a transmission issue b/c it is shifting fine, no lags in power anywhere, I'm truly at a loss.

Any help/advice/direction would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks, GO POKES!
Old February 18th, 2010, 10:19 AM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts