Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Lifter noise on cold start.

Search this Thread

Old March 30th, 2011, 12:51 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifter noise on cold start.

Hello, I am new here and have a question regarding my 2003 Chevy silverado six cylinder (4.8L???) manual transmission truck. Please bear with me as I am not a mechanic. (LOL- I don't even know if "lifters" is the correct terminology)

I have 180,000 miles on the truck; I changed the oil religiously every 3,000 miles. I started to get a slight ticking from the top of the engine last week which lasted maybe five minutes and after it was warmed up it went away. I was overdue for an oil change as it had been over six months since my last one because I have been off work and not driving much.

I changed the oil and used a high mileage oil this time.Now, if I start the truck within a 24 hour gap it purrs like a cat. If I let it sit for two days it will tick but only for a minute or so. It seems as if time between starts is influencing the problem.

Is there any additive I can try to eliminate the ticking? Is there an issue with viscosity that is playing a part? While the "proper" thing to do would be tear it apart and replace parts it does have 180,000 miles (albeit highway miles) on it and the truck is not going to last forever.

Any suggestions on how to fix it? I haven't checked my oil pressure (gauge in cab doesn't work) but it would be easy if the pressure might be the issue. I can't afford to spend a lot on the issue due to my personal economy at the moment.
Old March 30th, 2011, 10:53 PM
CF Beginner