Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Oil Pressure on Aging 350

Search this Thread

Old August 24th, 2012, 7:59 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Pressure on Aging 350

A big hello to everyone here, I am new to the Chevy forum. I myself am a member of the Jeep CJ forum, and with their help I have rebuilt a '79 CJ7. I turned to this forum because my dad owns a '95 Silverado 1500, and we need some help with it. As the title suggests, the vehicle is aging. It was purchased from a used car dealership some time ago, and currently has over 320,000 kms on it. For the minimal amount of trouble we have had with it, that is incredible.

Now to get right to the point, this truck has been hauling things around for years, in work truck role. Can't remember the last time it was in for a service, but I took it upon myself to perform some maintenance. So I changed plugs, distributor rotor, PCV valve, air filter, and fuel filter. It was long overdue.

Anyway, over the past few weeks my dad has been noticing a drop in oil pressure. The gauge normally sits at 275 or so, but it has been dropping to less than that. After the little tune up I preformed, during a test run, the pressure dropped down to scarcely above the red line indicator. Oil level was good, and there was no abnormal sound or leaks on the ground. So is the pump starting to go after all these Kms? I realize how worn the engine must be, but I don't want the thing to be run into the ground due to a failing oil pump.

Sorry for the long post, I'm trying to make sure I haven't left anything out. I am not used to the TBI the truck has, or the electronic gauges, or anything about it, really. My CJ has a Carter carb, and mechanical gauges. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.