Radio won't turn off after opening drivers door - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Radio won't turn off after opening drivers door


  Reply  
slipree's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3

April 10th, 2011, 5:54 PM   #1  
Radio won't turn off after opening drivers door

I just put a set of DL3 mirrors and the new power fold switch on my 2006 Silverado and every thing worked great but now when I open the drivers door the radio won't shut off nor will the interior lights come on, the passenger door does what its suppose to and everything worked fine before the mirror conversion so do I still need to have BCM flashed? I'm thinking I do, has anyone out there had a similar problem? if so can you give me some help on what action to take?
Many Thanks, Slipree


Last edited by slipree; April 10th, 2011 at 5:55 PM. Reason: spelling
 
tech2's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,993

April 10th, 2011, 8:12 PM   #2  
do you have access a scan tool that can monitor bcm data? the door switch is the input to the bcm that controls the radio and interior lights. this is all done through CAN communication data lines. Check for communication codes or u codes and check that the bcm is seeing the door switch data.

Is it possible that a connector in the door got left disconnected?

 
slipree's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3

April 10th, 2011, 8:56 PM   #3  
Well I don't think anything got left unplugged I'll have to check it and see, On some of the other forums I have read about this but nobody has offered a solution, I was hoping to stay away from the dealer but may have no choice, I just want everything to work correctly with the factory look. I also have no chimes with the key in the ignition and the door open, I'm thinking the BCM doesn't recognize this new switch? I was hoping someone out there had dealt with this and got it resolved

 
slipree's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3

April 10th, 2011, 8:58 PM   #4  
To answer your question (sorry I got carried away) I do not have access to a scan tool

 
Tags
Search this Thread