Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

stuck in 4wd

Search this Thread

Old December 5th, 2007, 6:35 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stuck in 4wd

[>:] I have a 99 Silverado 5.3L 130,000mi. Engaged 4WD high for the trip home from work after the last snowfall. It didn't seem to help. Couldn't get any traction. Thought it was my crappy tires (Firestone Destination LE). Got home, tried to switch back to 2WD but the 4WD LED flashed, heard some noises under truck like it wanted to, but it just went back to 4WD. It will go to Auto 4WD. Now I'm wondering if it's not just the crappy tires, but really don't have 4WD. Had switch replaced 2yrs ago. Any ideas what's going on?
Old December 5th, 2007, 12:15 PM
CF Junior Member

Default RE: stuck in 4wd

Well, im no pro, but it does sound like your 4wd is messing up. Sounds like your tcase fluid is low, wich would cause it to not want to shift out, Here's what i would do:First, are any check engine lights on? If so, get an OBD2 reader and check the codes (or have a mechanic do it, but a reader is an outstanding investment, use it twice and you get your monies worth) if not,check your transfer case fluid, is it low, or does ithave metalshavings, ? check the electronics (wires and plugs) to see if anthing is loose or shorted out. Have some one drive it in 4wd drive while checking to see if the front drivshaft is spinning. if all this checks out good, check the fluid in the front diff. metal shavings? let me know how it goes.
Old December 6th, 2007, 6:41 AM
CF Beginner