Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

White smoke???

Search this Thread

Old September 25th, 2014, 2:19 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default White smoke???

hello everyone, im a highschool student and dont know very much about vehicles when it comes to anything complicated such as this, i have been trying to figure out this problem i have for months i cant seem to get anywhere, so any tips or input would be appreciated!

I have a 95 engine in my 96 Chevy silvarado v8 350 with around 238,000 miles on it and it has a problem with thick white smoke coming out of the exhaust when i first start it up (cold mornings, nights, after sitting in park), and it smells of antifreeze. my coolant levels drop very fast, for example i filled it up and within two days it drank it all up. there is no leaking onto the ground though. I have been told several times that it is a faulty head gasket, but the symptoms dont all match from what ive read online. there is no coolant getting into my oil, and i had a mechanic look at it and he did a compression test and said i wasn't losing any compression. i did notice yesterday that when i was filling up my radiator with antifreeze there was liquid seeping out of the rear end of the exhaust manifold right were it hooks up to the exhaust pipe, and when i turned the engine on and let it get warm the liquid went away? im not sure exactly what that means or if it is connected to the smoking. the engine runs fine as long as there is coolant and other then that it just smokes.
i dont have enough money to take it to a shop so last night me n my father drained the coolant, flushed it multiple times till water ran clear, and i threw some k&W Block seal in hopes to get it to quit leaking were ever it is.