Suspension & Tire Is your ride slammed to the ground? Did you lift it so high you need a ladder to get in? Got sleek low-pros or gnarly mudders? Step in and let's talk about 'em!

New to lifts, general and all around help needed and appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old July 29th, 2014, 6:20 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to lifts, general and all around help needed and appreciated!

Alright, just a few months ago I bought a new 2014 Chevy Silverado 1500 Z71, Crew Cab, 4wd. I am wanting to put a lift on the truck. I am new to lifts but I've been debating about the Rough Country 3.75" or 4.75" suspension lift: any thoughts or opinions on those, or would you recommend any other kits? There are kits that include the upper control arms for a little more, are those worth the extra money? Also, what about the No2? Also, I need help with tire sizes. The truck currently has 18" rims, and "265/65R18 All-Terrain Blackwall Tires". I'm just not sure what size to go up to or that will fit. Like I said, I'm new to this, I'm sure Ivery asked some obvious questions but I'd rather know and be sure than make a mistake. I appreciate the help!

-Shaffer

Last edited by Shaffer201; July 29th, 2014 at 6:28 PM.
Old August 12th, 2014, 11:43 AM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

the 3.75" kit is a 2.5" level and 1.25" body lift, the 4.75" kit is a 3.5" kit and 1.25" body lift. That bein said the 3.5" you get from the 4.75" kit is a glorified levelin kit. That kit itself will put your lower ball joints and tie rods at extreme angles. Yes it has the new upper arms and diff drops for the cv spacers, but it neglects the other mentioned parts. Basically they'll be in a bind and you run into problems with having to replace worn parts a lot. If it were out of those two, I'd run the 3.75" kit. Is there a budget that you have? There are a few other kits I'd run over those two.