'01 suburban, no sound from aftermarket headunit. - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

'01 suburban, no sound from aftermarket headunit.


  Reply  
Juanto's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22

January 3rd, 2010, 11:41 PM   #1  
'01 suburban, no sound from aftermarket headunit.

Okay I was installing subs for a friend that has a 2001 suburban and when we plugged in the wiring harness and all the good stuff, the headunit turned on but no sound was coming from the speakers. I didn't bother running the p.con or anything because we ended up putting in the factory head unit so he could have some music while driving.

So my question to you all, is did we get the wrong wiring harness? He has a 2001 suburban with factory sub and with onstar but NO bose system. Or is there something that I missed?

 
981500k's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
hutchinson mn

January 3rd, 2010, 11:45 PM   #2  
What components did you all have with this unit.

 
Juanto's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22

January 3rd, 2010, 11:54 PM   #3  
Posted By: 981500k What components did you all have with this unit.
What do you mean what components does the unit have?

 
981500k's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
hutchinson mn

January 4th, 2010, 12:00 AM   #4  
sorry, Is there any special wire harness or converter box for the rca's or stereo in general or just the one wire harness for the deck and what kind of deck is it powered or slave deck

 
Juanto's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22

January 4th, 2010, 12:11 AM   #5  
Posted By: 981500k sorry, Is there any special wire harness or converter box for the rca's or stereo in general or just the one wire harness for the deck and what kind of deck is it powered or slave deck
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MEXBT2700.../dp/B001QY1KSK

This is the headunit. It does have a wiring harness that plugs into the back of it but I bought one so it'll plug into the GM radio harness as well. Its a powered deck (IIRC).

 
981500k's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
hutchinson mn

January 4th, 2010, 12:14 AM   #6  
K does the vehicle have its own amp that might need to be bypassed for all the speakers not just the factory sub.

 
Juanto's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22

January 4th, 2010, 12:35 AM   #7  
the car does not have an aftermarket amp, no. From what I read it does have a factory one. Does that one need to be bypassed? I'm new to chevys system, sorry.

 
981500k's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
hutchinson mn

January 4th, 2010, 12:48 AM   #8  
No thats fine not all vehicles are the same. I did some looking and there are bypass wire harnesses but they were not clear on the whole bose no bose thing. The one thing I did find out is that if you want to retain the onstar you will need to buy the appropriate interface for that to work with the after market deck. Now like I said it was unclear about the bypass kit but that might be the issue as well as not have the interface for the onstar but I kinda find that to be unlikly because other people have aftermarket decks that work just fine without. But look into the bypass harness as that could be your issue and it could also be posible that the deck has lost all four channels.

 
Juanto's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22

January 4th, 2010, 12:52 AM   #9  
Posted By: 981500k No thats fine not all vehicles are the same. I did some looking and there are bypass wire harnesses but they were not clear on the whole bose no bose thing. The one thing I did find out is that if you want to retain the onstar you will need to buy the appropriate interface for that to work with the after market deck. Now like I said it was unclear about the bypass kit but that might be the issue as well as not have the interface for the onstar but I kinda find that to be unlikly because other people have aftermarket decks that work just fine without. But look into the bypass harness as that could be your issue and it could also be posible that the deck has lost all four channels.
He's not concerned with retaining onstar. I have looked around at different wiring harnesses but they all look exactly alike the one that we have so I don't want to waste money on something we have.

 
981500k's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
hutchinson mn

January 4th, 2010, 12:53 AM   #10  
I understand your concern. do you have any local car audio stores in your area?

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics