Auto Foglights?? - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Auto Foglights??


  Reply  
  #1  
Old  January 2nd, 2008, 12:42 AM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 9
Auto Foglights??

Is there any way to get my foglights to come on with the auto headlights? My Camaro's foglights come on with the headlights and I want the Tahoe to do the same.
Thanks.

  #2  
Old  January 2nd, 2008, 9:12 AM
RE: Auto Foglights??

I've too been wondering the same. But i have a feeling that they won't unless you change some of the wiring.... I'm not sure but that would be my guess because i haven't figured out any other way.

  #3  
Old  January 2nd, 2008, 1:59 PM
RE: Auto Foglights??

You guys have fog everyday where you live or something?

  #4  
Old  January 2nd, 2008, 10:19 PM
  • Administrator
    Join Date: Apr 2006
    Posts: 9,074
    KC, MO area
RE: Auto Foglights??

You forgot how cool it looks.

Remember how you hurt yourself checking them out at speed?

  #5  
Old  January 2nd, 2008, 11:38 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 9
RE: Auto Foglights??

I guess it's foggy wherever a Camaro is in the country [8D]
Seriously I would like for them to come on with the headlights....Anyone know how?

ORIGINAL: ZX1100F1

You guys have fog everyday where you live or something?

  #6  
Old  January 3rd, 2008, 9:00 AM
RE: Auto Foglights??

Yep, I know how.

  #7  
Old  January 3rd, 2008, 10:48 AM
  • CF Active Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Posts: 225
    Ofallon, Missouri
RE: Auto Foglights??

At the risk of really letting people know I don't read manuals... How do you even turn on your fog lamps say on either my 2000 or 2007 Tahoe?

I just found my 2000 Tahoe was missing it's driver side fog light for some reason or other. Just the light bulb was hanging there. Dealer wanted $96 so I Ebayed that for $19. Now I'd like to test it... []

  #8  
Old  January 3rd, 2008, 1:01 PM
RE: Auto Foglights??

ZX has bashed me in the past for this, but if you cut the power wire on the fog lights and splice them into either the DRL, or low beams, they will come on when they come on...I have done this on all my vehicles and no bad results so far.....have doe it to my SS as well, so they come on with my DRLs, some people wire them to the high beams so they stay on with those.....either way it takes cutting and splicing, if your not comfortable dont do it.

  #9  
Old  January 3rd, 2008, 7:46 PM
  • CF Beginner
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 9
RE: Auto Foglights??

ORIGINAL: ZX1100F1

Yep, I know how.
[sm=WTFsgign.gif] Thanks for the help. That's a great way to treat newcomers to the site. A simple non reponce to the question would have been sufficient.

  #10  
Old  January 3rd, 2008, 8:34 PM
  • CF Senior Member
    Join Date: Oct 2006
    Posts: 321
RE: Auto Foglights??

ORIGINAL: MalibuMaxxSS

ZX has bashed me in the past for this, but if you cut the power wire on the fog lights and splice them into either the DRL, or low beams, they will come on when they come on...I have done this on all my vehicles and no bad results so far.....have doe it to my SS as well, so they come on with my DRLs, some people wire them to the high beams so they stay on with those.....either way it takes cutting and splicing, if your not comfortable dont do it.
That's a bit dangerous -- you could overload the circuit and before the fuse/breaker has the opportunity to blow/trip, the wires could potentially overheat, melt the insulation, and set a small fire in the engine compartment. Been there, done that.

The proper way to 'hack' the electrical system for this is to use a simple $8 relay and an a few inline fuses. This process will save you the potential for a vehicle fire and the potential for your insurance company to deny the claim based on improper customization.

All you need to do is connect the actuating leg of the relay to the headlight/drl/highbeam wire (with a fuse in the middle), connect the supply leg of the relay to the battery (or + stud in the fuse block under the hood) with a fuse in the middle, and lastly connect the foglights to the output leg of the relay (with a fuse between each leg of the lights and the relay). The relay should have it's own ground but if not, just ground it to a good solid grounding point.



  Reply
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors