Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900
Old July 22nd, 2015, 2:36 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Transmission
Print Wikipost

Changing transmission fluid. DIY Help

Old March 19th, 2007, 3:35 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing transmission fluid. DIY Help

I have a 1999 chevy tahoe, LT v-8 A/T. I am a newbie at car stuff. I just changed mytransmission fluid in my accord and would like to change it in my tahoe. Ive searched the forum but cant find any help. Can someone give me instructions on how to change the transmission fluid? (I think i found the drain plug, but does my truck have a transmission fluid filter I need to change too?) Please Help, thanks!
Old March 19th, 2007, 4:58 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Changing transmission fluid. DIY Help

buy yourself one of those chilton manuals at pepboys, autozone, etc... I am fairly sure you vehicle has a tranny filter.
Old March 19th, 2007, 10:43 AM
CF Active Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You just LOVE outsourcing don't you engine2! Pretty much yes, you do have a tranny filter you should change. You also have an access hole to drain the torque converter too. It's pretty much just unbolt the whole trans oil pan take out the bolts that hold the filter and pop the new one in. Put the new gasket on the pan after properly removing the old gasket and the remnants. Fill with the trans to capacity (I BELIEVE could be 6-7 quarts). I'd leave the torque converter alone if you don't feel too mechanically inclined.
Old March 19th, 2007, 11:39 AM
CF Junior Member