Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Chevy Tahoe - General coolant questiont

Search this Thread

Old April 25th, 2009, 9:37 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chevy Tahoe - General coolant questiont

Hello,

My friends Tahoe seized up this morning when she was going to work. I'm not a experienced auto technician, but I know the basic and I am an experienced aircraft mechanic, so I took a look.

I found, what I believe, to be the engine coolant intake fitting is completely corroded. There is no coolant left in the over flow tank, but I can see some inside of the radiator. I am not sure how to measure the proper amount of coolant from the radiator it self, given no marks on it. If anyone could shed light on that, that would be great (do I need to be at the proper mark in the overflow tank, to have proper coolant levels?)

I did a little research and found that it is a common problem to have the coolant intake manifold fail on V8 GM vehicles that use DEX-COOL. So I am pretty sure this is my problem... as long as that is the intake for the coolant. It is the largest rubber hose going into the block via a metal fitting screwed into the block. The metal fitting is completely corroded through. Seal in the fitting must have gone a long time ago, fitting has actual holes going through it.

MY MAIN QUESTION is can I just replace this fitting, refill the coolant, and be good to go? Or does the system need a complete flush? I read that it is bad for DEX-COOL to get into the engine for it can corrode the head gasket seals... That doesn't make sense to me personally, I thought the coolants point was to get into the engine to cool it. Any light on that would be appreciated to.

Also, if anyone has any good part websites (preferably with online diagrams) that would be awesome.