Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Code p0410 on a 2001 tahoe

Search this Thread

Old November 8th, 2010, 10:52 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Code p0410 on a 2001 tahoe

check engine light came on, got my 01' Tahoe scanned by a local dealer gave me code of P0410 Air Induction system faliure.
I'm no mechanic but I would like to do it myself. I checked the hose under the hood but found no leaks. Any suggestions? I would like to start replacing least expensive to expensive parts.

What are the common parts replaced?
How do you know if you have a faulty air pump?
Does anyone know where I can view a diagram to where each part is located?
Old November 12th, 2010, 12:54 PM
Administrator

Received 42 Likes on 42 Posts

Have you tried these...also see attached TSB

P0410 OBD-II Trouble Code

Technical Description

Secondary Air Injection System Malfunction

What does that mean?

The P0410 code refers to the emissions system. The AIR pump puts air to the exhaust to lower emissions. It takes in outside air and pumps it through two one-way check valves into each bank of the exhaust.

About 90% of the time that this code is set, the one-way check valves have worn out or failed and allow water (which occurs naturally in the exhaust) back into the pump. In any cold climate, especially in climates with higher humidity, this water may be more excessive. The water partially fills the AIR pump, it can then freeze. When the PCM commands the pump on, if the pump is frozen it cannot turn, thus overloading the circuit and "popping" the fuse.

Symptoms

Possibly symptoms include:

MIL illumination obviously
Hesitation on acceleration
Noise from a bad/stuck AIR pump
Causes

A code P0410 may mean that one or more of the following has happened: