Direct wire radar detector - revisited - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Direct wire radar detector - revisited


  Reply  
daytrader's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4

June 18th, 2011, 3:53 PM   #1  
Direct wire radar detector - revisited

Hello, I'm new to the forum. I have a new 2011 Suburban Z71, and I want to direct wire my Escort Passport 8500 X50. I've already read the other threads here and I still can't figure out how to do it right. I've read all about the Invisicord, but I haven't figured out how to use the Invisicord and still have the mute button from the Smartcord mounted by my steering wheel. Can anyone point me in the right direction for getting power to the radar detector? I know that none of the fuses in the interior fuse box are switched, so I can't just tap in there. Is there a way to use the Invisicord and still use the Smartcord? Or are there other places I can tap into? Maybe into the radio? I also have a Gen 6 Lockpick that I installed on the back of the radio. It has a 12V switched accessory output that I might be able to use, but it says don't use it for more than 1 amp. I'm not sure how many amps the radar detector uses though.

Any thoughts/help would be appreciated.

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,121
KC, MO area

June 18th, 2011, 10:15 PM   #2  
Welcome to the forum.

As you probably already know, the Invisicord connects to the connector on the mirror. So that is an easy way to get power to it whether you buy the Invisicord or just make your own. (I did for my Valentine One).

Not sure about the Smartcord configuration. Is it just a remote mute button on a cord?

 
daytrader's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4

June 19th, 2011, 7:41 PM   #3  
Yes the Smartcord has a mute button as well as two LED lights - one showing that the unit has power, and the other flashes when an alert is triggered.

Link to Direct Wire Smartcord: https://www.escortradar.com/store/di...cord-blue.html

I prefer to have my mute button closer so I can press it without having to reach up near the mirror every 5 seconds. I just can't figure out a way to get power without the Invisicord, or if I do use the Invisicord, how can I still use the Smartcord?

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,121
KC, MO area

June 20th, 2011, 12:57 PM   #4  
It appears that you would have to splice the SmartCord into the Invisicord and then place the module where you want it.

Or splice 12VDC into the SmartCord from the mirror or anywhere else you can find it.

 
daytrader's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4

June 27th, 2011, 11:00 AM   #5  
Update

Just wanted to post my results here, as I was able to get the SmartCord wired up properly. I didn't have to use the Invisicord. Instead I connected the SmartCord power to my Gen6 Lockpick, which has an accessory power output as well as a ground connection. All I had to do was snip off the factory connectors on the SmartCord and expose the wire, which I then easily attached to the Gen6 harness using their already-included crimp connectors. It was pretty easy to wire up and then run the wires up to the radar detector by my rear view mirror. I haven't yet found an ideal place for the radar detector though. Right now it's on suction just to the left of the black dots that are behind the rearview mirror. I thought about putting it on the black dots, where it would be better hidden, but there were two problems with that: 1) I would have to glue it since the suction won't work with the dots - that would mean if I took it down, removing the glue without messing up the dots would probably be impossible; and 2) There's less space above the rear view mirror due to the fact that overhead center console is lower right there, and it's too tight of a fit, causing the laser sensor on top to possibly be blocked by the overhead console.

I hope this helps anyone else who tries to do this...

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,121
KC, MO area

June 27th, 2011, 4:22 PM   #6  
I think those "dots" might be metallic so you wouldn't want to put the detector behind them plus they might block the laser detector.

Have you checked out the BlendMounts?

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics