Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900
Old July 22nd, 2015, 2:44 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Wheels and Tire
Print Wikipost

Rear axle ratio, need some advice.

Search this Thread

Old January 23rd, 2008, 6:33 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear axle ratio, need some advice.

I'm a newbie to this forum and am looking at purchasing a 2008 Tahoe most likely with a Z71 trim. I realize the truck comes with 3 different axle ratios to choose from. The particular vehicle I'm interested in on the local dealer lot has a 3.42 rear axle ratio. I've read and been told conflicting information regarding the pros/cons of each one. I think 3.73 is the most popular and the 4.10 comes more on the 4wd models.

My situation/need is this. The only towing I will be doing is pulling a 20 foot skeeter fish/ski boat on a dual axle trailer. Minimal if any off-road use. I live in Texas so the only inclement weather would be the random once a year ice storm and rainy weather.

Should I avoid the 3.42 ratio and find one that hasa 3.73?

Or should I opt for a 4wd model?

I'd appreciate any advice.
Old January 23rd, 2008, 6:49 PM
CF Addict

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Rear axle ratio, need some advice.

My personal opinion is this;
The actual physical and operational difference between these ratios is slight (+ or - one tooth on the pinion gear) , most people can get out of a Tahoe with a 4.10's and get right in another with a 3.42 and not be able to tell the difference, now if you were pulling a more substantial trailer then I would recommend the 4.10 without hesitation.