Go Back   Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums > Current Chevy Trucks, SUV's, Crossovers & Vans > Tahoe & Suburban
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:04 AM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default Service Tire Pressure Monitor

I just purchased a used 2008 Tahoe with 20" BFGoodrich All Terrain. But the Tire Pressure Monitor light is on? The dealer says it is because these are not stock tires? Is that correct and/or what can I do? thanks
Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2011, 04:30 PM
73shark's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 8,114
Default

Welcome to the forum.

Since the TPMS checks air pressure, not sure how the type of tire would have any effect. Are you sure that the sensors are still on the wheels? Might get it scanned for any DTCs to see if it tells you anything.
__________________
2010 Sheer Silver Tahoe LTZ (all options but sunroof, power boards), GM (body color flaps, rear console, 3rd row mat, 2-Way Remote, chrome gas door, Esky rack), Eagle Eye LED tails, SLP dual tip exhaust, Silver bow-ties/rear wiper, Catch-All mats, AlphaTherm washer fluid heater, Putco chrome mirror covers, silver calipers, board chrome trim, tint, GMPP Major Guard

2007 Black Tahoe LTZ (Sold),
(GM flaps-$15, Lund Step Tubes-$80-For Sale)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2011, 06:55 PM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: toms river, NJ
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachVince View Post
I just purchased a used 2008 Tahoe with 20" BFGoodrich All Terrain. But the Tire Pressure Monitor light is on? The dealer says it is because these are not stock tires? Is that correct and/or what can I do? thanks
dealer is incorrect !

All u need to do is relearn TPMS position. U can do it by your self. Stop the car, turn engine off and put keys back in acc position. With first (or second) button on right set RELEARN TIRE POSITION or something like that. Now you have to start with left front tire. Remove valve cup and deflate tire until u hear your car horn once. It's take up to 15 sec. than continue with driver side, rear left and last rear right. When you finish last tire, car horn will sound twice to inform you, that process was successful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2011, 07:03 PM
in2pro's Avatar
Administrator
2007 Chevrolet Tahoe
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,220
Default

Welcome to the forum,
It may cost you $20 bucks but you could have the dealer rotate your tires and they will relearn the TPMS for you, but its a good way to get to know your service person at the dealership should you decide to use them for other services...
__________________
Looking to advertise in the forum? click here > Internet Brands
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:12 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vrso2 View Post
dealer is incorrect !

All u need to do is relearn TPMS position. U can do it by your self. Stop the car, turn engine off and put keys back in acc position. With first (or second) button on right set RELEARN TIRE POSITION or something like that. Now you have to start with left front tire. Remove valve cup and deflate tire until u hear your car horn once. It's take up to 15 sec. than continue with driver side, rear left and last rear right. When you finish last tire, car horn will sound twice to inform you, that process was successful.
sounds easy, but nothing is ever easy with me...you mean you actually let the air out of the tire to a point where the tire goes below "x" and repeat the process on all tires? and the horn will actually sound? wow, can't be that simple, but thanks and I will try. Someone at Les Schwab said they could do it for a couple hundred bucks, at least that is what the salesman from Chevy told me. It was working before the new tires...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:43 PM
73shark's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 8,114
Default

If you have the rubber valve stem sensors, don't be surprised if the manual procedure doesn't work. I remember when they switched due to corrosion problems w/ the metal ones in the rust belt and people had problems w/ the relearn procedure. Must have gotten it fixed because my new one has the metal ones.

BTW the procedure is in the owner's manual. Order is LF, RF, RR, and LR. It works by adding air also.
__________________
2010 Sheer Silver Tahoe LTZ (all options but sunroof, power boards), GM (body color flaps, rear console, 3rd row mat, 2-Way Remote, chrome gas door, Esky rack), Eagle Eye LED tails, SLP dual tip exhaust, Silver bow-ties/rear wiper, Catch-All mats, AlphaTherm washer fluid heater, Putco chrome mirror covers, silver calipers, board chrome trim, tint, GMPP Major Guard

2007 Black Tahoe LTZ (Sold),
(GM flaps-$15, Lund Step Tubes-$80-For Sale)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2011, 07:27 AM
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: toms river, NJ
Posts: 225
Default

"let the air out of the tire to a point where the tire goes below "x" and repeat the process on all tires? and the horn will actually sound?"

Yes. each time system relearn TPMS horn will sound once. U dont have to empty tire. It's take up to 15 sec. All you have to do is, after procedure turn keyes to off position and blow tires back to standard tire pressure.
It's easy and u can't do it wrong. Can you ?? )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:56 AM
73shark's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 8,114
Default

Yes if the system refuses to work. Then you wind up w/ a flat tire. That's why I mentioned the problem w/ the rubber valve stems.
__________________
2010 Sheer Silver Tahoe LTZ (all options but sunroof, power boards), GM (body color flaps, rear console, 3rd row mat, 2-Way Remote, chrome gas door, Esky rack), Eagle Eye LED tails, SLP dual tip exhaust, Silver bow-ties/rear wiper, Catch-All mats, AlphaTherm washer fluid heater, Putco chrome mirror covers, silver calipers, board chrome trim, tint, GMPP Major Guard

2007 Black Tahoe LTZ (Sold),
(GM flaps-$15, Lund Step Tubes-$80-For Sale)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2011, 01:07 PM
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,101
Default Rims

Are they the factory wheels? If not, they might have just left the TPMS sensors out of the new ones, in which case, you can't fix this without taking the tires off, putting in sensors, then putting the rubber back on!
__________________
...Need $, will settle for ...

2009 Tahoe LTZ (Mikayla)
2012 Wrangler Rubicon on 35s (River)
2016 Tesla Model S or X (Saving my )
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2011, 10:22 PM
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Default

I will give it a try. I should have checked the manual as it does explain the process..but more likely as has been mentioned,they left the sensors off,that is why they told me to go to Les Schwab...kind of odd the dealer didn't know this?
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:22 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
08, 2007, chevy, impalia, les, long, metal, monitor, presure, put, relearn, schwab, service, stems, tahoe, tire, tires, valve


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Join Chevroletforum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup