Service Tire Pressure Monitor - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Service Tire Pressure Monitor


  Reply  
CoachVince's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Seattle

January 30th, 2011, 11:04 AM   #1  
Service Tire Pressure Monitor

I just purchased a used 2008 Tahoe with 20" BFGoodrich All Terrain. But the Tire Pressure Monitor light is on? The dealer says it is because these are not stock tires? Is that correct and/or what can I do? thanks

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,109
KC, MO area

January 30th, 2011, 4:30 PM   #2  
Welcome to the forum.

Since the TPMS checks air pressure, not sure how the type of tire would have any effect. Are you sure that the sensors are still on the wheels? Might get it scanned for any DTCs to see if it tells you anything.

 
vrso2's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 229
toms river, NJ

January 30th, 2011, 6:55 PM   #3  
Posted By: CoachVince I just purchased a used 2008 Tahoe with 20" BFGoodrich All Terrain. But the Tire Pressure Monitor light is on? The dealer says it is because these are not stock tires? Is that correct and/or what can I do? thanks
dealer is incorrect !

All u need to do is relearn TPMS position. U can do it by your self. Stop the car, turn engine off and put keys back in acc position. With first (or second) button on right set RELEARN TIRE POSITION or something like that. Now you have to start with left front tire. Remove valve cup and deflate tire until u hear your car horn once. It's take up to 15 sec. than continue with driver side, rear left and last rear right. When you finish last tire, car horn will sound twice to inform you, that process was successful.

 
in2pro's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7,250
Austin, Texas

January 30th, 2011, 7:03 PM   #4  
Welcome to the forum,
It may cost you $20 bucks but you could have the dealer rotate your tires and they will relearn the TPMS for you, but its a good way to get to know your service person at the dealership should you decide to use them for other services...

 
CoachVince's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Seattle

January 30th, 2011, 11:12 PM   #5  
Posted By: vrso2 dealer is incorrect !

All u need to do is relearn TPMS position. U can do it by your self. Stop the car, turn engine off and put keys back in acc position. With first (or second) button on right set RELEARN TIRE POSITION or something like that. Now you have to start with left front tire. Remove valve cup and deflate tire until u hear your car horn once. It's take up to 15 sec. than continue with driver side, rear left and last rear right. When you finish last tire, car horn will sound twice to inform you, that process was successful.
sounds easy, but nothing is ever easy with me...you mean you actually let the air out of the tire to a point where the tire goes below "x" and repeat the process on all tires? and the horn will actually sound? wow, can't be that simple, but thanks and I will try. Someone at Les Schwab said they could do it for a couple hundred bucks, at least that is what the salesman from Chevy told me. It was working before the new tires...

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,109
KC, MO area

January 30th, 2011, 11:43 PM   #6  
If you have the rubber valve stem sensors, don't be surprised if the manual procedure doesn't work. I remember when they switched due to corrosion problems w/ the metal ones in the rust belt and people had problems w/ the relearn procedure. Must have gotten it fixed because my new one has the metal ones.

BTW the procedure is in the owner's manual. Order is LF, RF, RR, and LR. It works by adding air also.

 
vrso2's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 229
toms river, NJ

January 31st, 2011, 7:27 AM   #7  
"let the air out of the tire to a point where the tire goes below "x" and repeat the process on all tires? and the horn will actually sound?"

Yes. each time system relearn TPMS horn will sound once. U dont have to empty tire. It's take up to 15 sec. All you have to do is, after procedure turn keyes to off position and blow tires back to standard tire pressure.
It's easy and u can't do it wrong. Can you ?? )

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,109
KC, MO area

January 31st, 2011, 11:56 AM   #8  
Yes if the system refuses to work. Then you wind up w/ a flat tire. That's why I mentioned the problem w/ the rubber valve stems.

 
SabrToothSqrl's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,600

January 31st, 2011, 1:07 PM   #9  
Rims

Are they the factory wheels? If not, they might have just left the TPMS sensors out of the new ones, in which case, you can't fix this without taking the tires off, putting in sensors, then putting the rubber back on!

 
CoachVince's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Seattle

January 31st, 2011, 10:22 PM   #10  
I will give it a try. I should have checked the manual as it does explain the process..but more likely as has been mentioned,they left the sensors off,that is why they told me to go to Les Schwab...kind of odd the dealer didn't know this?

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics