Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Trailer towing package question

Search this Thread

Old July 25th, 2007, 4:12 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trailer towing package question

Hello all,
Newbie here. Just picked up an '03 Z71 Suburban. We bought it mainly for towing our pop-up camper. Before I go out and buy a trailer brake controller, I was wondering if anyone can elaborate on a statement from the owner's manual related to a wiring harness adapter available from the dealer:
If your trailer is equipped with electronic brakes, you
can get a jumper harness (electric trailer brake control)
with a trailer battery feed fuse from your dealer. This
harness and fuse should be installed by your dealer or a
qualified service center.

My question is: will this harness provide a voltage output to my trailer brakes? Anyone know the part number for this or can point me in the right direction? Thanks much!
Old July 25th, 2007, 5:46 PM
CF Addict

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Trailer towing package question

The harness/adaptor has a white plastic connector on one end that plugs into the vehicles wire harness block underneath the dash the other end has bare wires (with butt connectors) that are crimped to the wires on your brake controller.
The adaptor simply makes for easy brake controller installation.

Your dealer will have the correct one for your Suburban it is P/N15085418
Old July 26th, 2007, 5:29 AM
CF Beginner

As I suspected....Thank you ZX!
Old July 30th, 2007, 2:09 PM
CF Beginner

Default RE: Trailer towing package question (one more question ZX!)