Tahoe & Suburban DIY and Useful Threads This section is for DIY writeups, FAQs, and other useful threads. If you would like something posted in here, please contact a moderator.

Replacing valve lifter without removing head on 7.4 454 vortec engine

Search this Thread

Old December 29th, 2016, 6:07 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing valve lifter without removing head on 7.4 454 vortec engine

I thought I'd share my experience on replacing the bad valve lifter. I started getting a loud lifter clack on my 1999 Suburban K2500. Using a mechanic stethoscope I determine the sound was coming from the passenger side. I've never done one before so did some searching.

I found a youtube video that showed I could remove them by just pulling them out (but it wasn't for this engine). Other information said I would need to remove the head or lower intake manifold to get to them. I removed the upper intake manifold bolts and lifted the manifold up a couple of inches just enough to allow removing the valve cover on the passenger side. I only disconnected a couple of things to allow the manifold to lift up since I wasn't taking it completly off. It looks like the driver side cover can be removed without lifting the manifold. With the valve cover removed I discovered that the problem valve was the 4th from the front. It had almost a half inch of gap under the rocker arm when the valve was down.
Here is a video showing the clacking sound